FIFAWWC 2019: France, USA unveil World Cup squads

FIFAWWC 2019: France, USA unveil World Cup squads

With a little over a month left for the commencement of the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup (FIFAWWC), France on Thursday evening unveiled the full list of players that will be competing for the highly coveted trophy on home soil.

Earlier today, Norway who have been grouped alongside the hosts France, Nigeria and South Korea also revealed her final 23-woman squad for the tournament taking place in June.

With the events of Thursday, this means the Super Falcons of Nigeria and South Korea remain the only teams left to announce their full squad ahead of the global showpiece.

Below are the full list of players selected by Coach Corinne Deacon saddled with the responsibility of emerging FIFA Women’s World Cup winners for the first time.

In the same vein holders, United States of America also made known their 23-woman squad with two time FIFA Player of the Year, Carli Lloyd perfectly poised for her fourth World Cup appearance with the USA national team.

Full list of players include set for the FIFA Women’s World Cup title defence include:

GOALKEEPERS: Adrianna Franch, Ashlyn Harris, Alyssa Naeher

DEFENDERS: Abby Dahlkemper, Tierna Davidson, Crystal Dunn, Ali Krieger, Kelley O’Hara, Becky Sauerbrunn, Emily Sonnett

MIDFIELDERS: Morgan Brian, Julie Ertz, Lindsey Horan, Rose Lavelle, Allie Long, Samantha Mewis

FORWARDS: Tobin Heath, Carli Lloyd, Jessica McDonald, Alex Morgan, Christen Press, Mallory Pugh, Megan Rapinoe

The three time World Champions will face Thailand, Chile and Sweden in Group F of the 2019 FIFA World Cup as they look to win the title back to back for the first time.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.