Super Eagles begin training for Brazil on Thursday

Super Eagles begin training for Brazil on Thursday

Nigeria’s senior national team the Super Eagles will begin full training for Sunday’s international friendly against Brazil on Thursday, reports

The Super Eagles are billed to face Brazil’s Seleçao for the first time in sixteen years on Sunday in Singapore and the team are expected to commence full training three days to the game.

A slightly depleted squad has been assembling in the Singaporean capital and the majority of invited players have been confirmed now to be in Singapore as at Wednesday night, local time.

On Wednesday morning, it was reported that Torino right back Ola Aina had joined fellow defender Kenneth Omeruo in being ruled out of Sunday’s game.

It is however confirmed that eighteen players as well as team’s head coach Gernot Rohr are already in Singapore.

The players are led by vice-captain William Ekong alongside England based trio of Alex Iwobi, Wilfred Ndidi and Kelechi Iheanacho.

Goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa is expected to join the team on Thursday while Oghenekaro Etebo and Jamilu Collins are also yet to join up with the side.

Aside the playing staff, some members of the backroom staff also left Nigeria for Singapore on Wednesday night to join up with the squad.

The backroom staff include Dayo Enebi Achor (Team Administrator); Toyin Ibitoye (Media Officer); Dr. Ibrahim Gyaran (Team Doctor); Christopher Nnadozie (Physiotherapist) and; Chidi Ngoka (Equipment Manager).

Singaporean Chuan Jansen Foo has been appointed as referee for the prestige international friendly match. Foo will be assisted by compatriots Abdul Hannan (assistant referee 1), Ong Chai Lee (assistant referee 2) and G. Letchman (fourth official) at the game billed starting from 8pm Singapore time, 1pm in Nigeria.

Revised Team Roster 

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Emil Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

Defenders: Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Tyronne Ebuehi (SL Benfica, Portugal); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England)

Midfielders: Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Anderson Esiti (PAOK Salonica, Greece); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain)

Forwards: Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Efosa Solomon-Otabor (PFC CSKA Sofia, Bulgaria); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Emmanuel Dennis (Club Brugge, Belgium); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Prague, Czech Republic)

1 Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.