Osimhen, Etebo return for Sierra Leone double header

Osimhen, Etebo return for Sierra Leone double header

Napoli forward Victor Osimhen and midfielder Oghenekaro Etebo are back to the Super Eagles ahead of the 2022 AFCONQ against Sierra Leone next month. 

The duo lead 22 others in the squad list made public by coach Gernot Rohr on Thursday evening. 

After he missed the friendly games against Algeria and Tunisia earlier this month in Austria, Rohr will be happy to welcome Osimhen back to the Super Eagles. 

Etebo is another player who missed the friendlies in Austria set to return to the team, with Joe Aribo also making his return after a long term absence from the team. 

The list also includes usual names like defenders Kenneth Omeruo, Leon Balogun and Chidozie Awaziem, Everton’s playmaker, Alex Iwobi and forwards Moses Simon, Samuel Chukwueze and Chidera Ejuke, who made his debut against Tunisia. 

Switzerland based goalkeeper Sebastian Osigwe will hope to earn his first cap for Nigeria, while defenders Kevin Akpoguma and Zaidu Sanusi are rewarded with another callup after they impressed during the friendlies in Austria. 

Meanwhile, there are seven players on standby, including defender Abdullahi Shehu, fit again goalkeeper Francis Uzoho, midfielders Ramon Azeez and Samson Tijani, and Belgium based giant Paul Onuachu.

The Super Eagles take on the Leone Stars at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin City on Friday, 13th November before flying to Freetown for the return game on Tuesday, 17th November at the Siaka Stevens Stadium.

Players are expected to report at the Protea Hotel Emotan in Benin City on Monday, 9th November. Victory in both encounters will all but guarantee Nigeria a slot at the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations finals in Cameroon.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Sebastian Osigwe (FC Lugano, Switzerland); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim, Germany)

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasaray, Turkey); Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Twente, Netherlands); Frank Onyeka (FC Midtjylland, Denmark); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Unattached); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Emmanuel Dennis Bonaventure (Club Brugge, Belgium); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia)

Standby: Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia, Cyprus); Samson Tijani (TSV Hartberg, Austria); Abdullahi Shehu (Omonia Nicosia, Cyprus); Ramon Azeez (Granada CF, Spain); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.