AiteoCAFAwards: Ogu bemoans CAF Team of the Year

AiteoCAFAwards: Ogu bemoans CAF Team of the Year

Super Eagles midfield star, John Ogu, has questioned the decision of the Confederation of African Football, CAF, to leave out two of his national team mates from their team of the year.

CAF revealed its Team of the Year at the AiteoCAFAwards on Tuesday night with the duo of Wilfred Ndidi and Oyinbo Wall member, William Troost-Ekong, conspicuously missing.

“[Mehdi] Benatia, [Serge] Aurier are not even regulars for their clubs,” Ogu said via his official social media account. “But what do I know .Ndidi [and] Troost-Ekong , we are both proud of you two . Forward ever,”

“My brothers, Ndidi, Troost-Ekong, we are proud of you two . I see you guys everyday in the National team and I see how dedicated and motivated you both are. I’m super proud of you two . Never stop working . You guys are destined for the top.”

Both players have been ever present for their respective teams this season, with defensive midfielder, Ndidi rated very highly in the Premier League, where he plays for 2016 champions, Leicester City.

Ndidi has won 48 tackles for the Foxes this season, the fourth most in the PL behind the trio of team mate Ricardo Pereira, Everton’s Idrissa Gueye, and Aaron Wan-Bissaka.

For Troost-Ekong, he has played 19 matches this season for Udinese in the Serie A, making 113 clearances, 26 interceptions and three key passes.

Here is a full list of players who made CAF’s Team of the Year for 2018.

Denis Onyango, Serge Aurier, Medhi Benatia, Eric Bailly, Kalidou Koulibaly, Thomas Partey, Naby Keita, Riyad Mahrez, Sadio Mane, Mohamed Salah, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

    Leave a Reply