Aiteo Cup: Enyimba, Enugu Rangers eliminated

Aiteo Cup: Enyimba, Enugu Rangers eliminated

Former winners of the Nigerian FA Cup; Enyimba and Enugu Rangers were knocked out of the 2022 tournament by fellow top-flight sides, reports

After the game finished goalless in Ijebu Ode, it was Ekene Awazie’s miss in sudden death during the shoot-out that handed Tornadoes progression into the round of 16 at the expense of Finidi George’s Enyimba.

In Benin, 2018 champions Enugu Rangers were bundled out by Heartland on penalties at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium. Ossy Martins’ opener for Rangers was blotted out by Nonso Nzediegwu just before full-time. The Naze Millionaires eventually prevailed in the marathon shoot-out to nick a spot in the next round.

In Abuja, the battle between NPFL sides Wikki Tourists and Kwara United stretched into penalties after Alao Dabani’s early strike was canceled by Victor Dawa. After the shootout, Wikki emerged victorious to dent the continental aspirations of the Harmony Boys.

In Enugu, a hat-trick from winger Samuel Amadi gave 2017 champions Akwa United a comfortable 3-0 win over Remo Stars at the UNEC Stadium.

In Makurdi, Sunshine Stars, who are aiming for their first national title, hammered Rovers of Calabar 5-1 at the Aper Aku Stadium. Chigozie Chilekwu’s brace and other goals from Ikenna Cooper, Chinedu Ozor and Samson Olasupo steered the Owena Whales to a resounding victory.

There were no problems for the two NPFL sides that played at the Kaduna centre as Kano Pillars and Nasarawa United defeated Zamfara United and Sokoto United respectively.

2019  champions Kano Pillars walloped NNL side Zamfara United  5-0 to advance to the round of 16. Braces from Godspower Aniefiok and Rabiu Ali plus a late goal by Jerry Alex determined the contest at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium.

2021 finalists Nasarawa United needed a tension-soaked penalty shootout to edge second division side Sokoto United after it finished 1-1 at regulation time.

Meanwhile, newly promoted NPFL side Doma United lost 3-0 to Lobi Stars in Jos, while Bendel Insurance needed penalties to beat Ottasolo FC  in Ilorin.

Defending champions Bayelsa United were knocked out by second division side Green Beret FC in Enugu on penalties at the UNEC stadium, as the round of 32 games was concluded on Wednesday.

Aiteo Cup Round of 32 Results in full:

Bayelsa United 0-0 Green Beret (4-5 penalties)
Enyimba International 0-0 Niger Tornadoes (5-6 penalties)
Doma United 0-3 Lobi Stars
Akure City Academy 2-1 Bendel Insurance Feeders
Rangers Int’l 1-1 Heartland FC (7-8 penalties)
Sunshine Stars 5-1 Rovers FC
Cynosure FC 1-3 Katsina United
Remo Stars 0-3 Akwa United
Kogi United 2-2 Kanta United (5-4 penalties)
DMD FC 0-0 Housing Corporation (4-2 penalties)
Zamfara United 0-5 Kano Pillars
Fulfill FC 0-1 El-Kanemi Warriors
Kwara United 1-1 Wikki Tourists (3-4 penalties)
Bendel Insurance 1-1 Ottasolo FC (4-3 penalties)
Sokoto United 1-1 Nasarawa United (10-11 penalties)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.