NPFL: Kano Pillars book play off spot; Tornadoes go down

NPFL: Kano Pillars book play off spot; Tornadoes go down

Kano Pillars book a place in the season-ending Super Six playoff of the 2018/19 Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) with an emphatic 3-0 win over Delta Force while Niger Tornadoes were confirmed relegated after a 2-0 loss at Enyimba.

Pillars legend Rabiu Ali set Pillars en route to victory with a first half penalty before two other homegrown players Ali Auwalu Malam and Yusuf Maigoro added their names to the score sheet in the second half.

Enyimba returned to winning ways with a 2-0 win over Tornadoes courtesy of goals from captain Ifeanyi Anaemena (from the penalty spot) and returning striker Ibrahim Mustapha. The result confirms Tornadoes’ drop to the second tier NNL.

Rangers did no favours for Rivers United in a 1-0 win in Enugu while FC Ifeanyiubah recorded the only away win of the match day in Maiduguri; Chibuike Ezeh’s late strike giving them victory over El-Kanemi Warriors.

Go Round FC were denied an away win late in the game by Nasarawa United. Abubakar Lawal’s goal at the nick of time ending the game in a 2-2 draw after Sunusi Ibrahim had scored in between Joshua Osem and Chiebonam Nwogbaga‘s goals for Go Round.



Rangers International 1-0 Rivers United

(Chidera Ezeh 85′)

Kwara United 2-1 Remo Stars

(Uche Onwuansonaya 74′, Alamoyo 79′ – Victor Mbaoma 90+2′)

Enyimba FC 2-0 Niger Tornadoes

(Ifeanyi Anaemena 45+5′ PEN, Ibrahim Mustapha 70′)

Insurance FC 1-0 Sunshine Stars

(Junior Osaghae 4′)

Lobi Stars 2-1 Wikki Tourists

(Austin Ogunye 49′, Sikiru Alimi 81′ – Ukeme Williams 68′)

MFM FC 2-1 Katsina United

(Adeniji Kabir 10′, Zikiye Jonathan 90+1′ – Timothy Danladi 50′)

Group B

Plateau United 2-0 Yobe Desert Stars

(Amos Gyang 30′ PEN, Godwin Obaje 82′)

Nasarawa United 2-2 Go Round FC

(Sunusi Ibrahim 65′, Abubakar Lawal 90′ – Joshua Osem 38′, Chiebonam Nwogbaga 75′)

Kano Pillars 3-0 Delta Force

(Rabiu Ali 19′ PEN, Auwalu Ali 47′, Yusuf Maigoro 57′)

Akwa United 2-2 Abia Warriors

(Godspower Aniefiok 31′, Ocheme Edoh 89′ – Ibrahim Olawoyin 29′, Samson Obi 82′)

Gombe United 1-0 Heartland FC

(Yusuf Abdulazeez 72′)

El-Kanemi Warriors 0-1 FC Ifeanyiubah

(Chibuike Eze 78′)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.