2019AFCONQ: Mikel Agu replaces Ndidi as Rohr invites 24

2019AFCONQ: Mikel Agu replaces Ndidi as Rohr invites 24

Vitoria Setubal of Portugal midfielder Ndubuisi Mikel Agu tops the list of twenty four players called up by Nigeria head coach Gernot Rohr ahead of next month’s 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against South Africa.

Mikel was dropped from the final squad for last summer’s 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia but has earned a recall after Leicester City midfielder Wilfred Ndidi incurred bookings in the two games against Libya earlier this month, ruling him out of November’s showdown with the Bafana Bafana.

Agu who is a regular feature in his new Portuguese side is not the only player recalled by Rohr as in-form Charleroi forward Victor Osimhen has been rewarded with a call-up to the Super Eagles. The youngster was part of Rohr’s group in the early months of the German’s reins at the helms of the national team. Osimhen’s teammate at Under-17 level, Samuel Chukwueze who plays for Villareal in Spain has also been handed his maiden call up.

From the team which beat Libya in October, Rohr has left out injured right back Abdullahi Shehu while FC Porto’s Chidozie Awaziem has been dropped to the standby list, paving the way for FC Ifeanyiubah defender Olamilekan Aniyikaye to be invited.

Nigeria are currently top of Group E in the qualifying series with nine points from their last three matches and will face South Africa at the FNB Stadium, Johannesburg on November 17 knowing that a win will assure them of qualification for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.

The Super Eagles will then face Uganda in an international friendly game in Asaba three days after the Johannesburg clash.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Elche FC, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Adeleye Aniyikaye (FC IfeanyiUbah); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany)

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal FC, Portugal)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nasr FC, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux FC, France); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)

Standby: Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); Nyima Nwagua (Kano Pillars FC); Sunday Adetunji (Enyimba FC); Junior Lokosa (Kano Pillars FC)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.