Women Afrobasket 2019: D’Tigress to know opponents July 29th

Women Afrobasket 2019: D’Tigress to know opponents July 29th

African Champions, Nigeria D’Tigress will know their opponents when the FIBA Women’s Afrobasket 2019 draws are made later this month in Dakar, Senegal. Prior to the draw, FIBA Africa awarded Kenya and the Democratic Republic of Congo wild cards for the upcoming FIBA Women’s AfroBasket 2019.

Kenya finished runners-up in last month’s Zone 5 Qualifiers in Kampala, Uganda, while Cameroon won Zone 4’s sole ticket ahead of DR Congo for the 12-nation tournament set to take place in Dakar, Senegal.

While the Congolese make a return to the competition for the second time in a row after claiming a 3-4 record to finish ninth at the FIBA Women’s AfroBasket 2017 in Bamako, Mali; Kenya last participated in the competition in 2013 in Maputo, where they finished tenth.

Both DR Congo and Kenya complete the 12-team FIBA Women’s AfroBasket lineup, which includes reigning champions Nigeria, hosts Senegal, Mali, Cape Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, Cameroon, Angola, Tunisia, Egypt and Mozambique.

The 26th edition of the FIBA Women’s Afrobasket will take place in Dakar, Senegal from August 9 – 18.

This year’s tournament will serve as a qualifier for the 2020 Olympic Qualifying Tournament.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.