WCQ: Rohr calls 23; drops Sanusi, Ebuehi

WCQ: Rohr calls 23; drops Sanusi, Ebuehi

Nigeria head coach Gernot Rohr has called up twenty-three (23) players ahead of next week’s Qatar 2022 World Cup qualifiers (WCQ) against Central African Republic (CAR) with full backs Zaidu Sanusi and Tyrone Ebuehi dropped.

Rohr’s 23-man squad was released by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) on Thursday, exactly a week before the team’s first game against the Central Africans at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos.

Rohr, in dropping Sanusi has handed a maiden call-up to Glasgow Rangers left back Calvin Ughelumba Bassey who will join his two club mates Leon Balogun and Joe Aribo in the national team set-up.

Germany based Kevin Akpoguma has also been recalled in place of Ebuehi who misses out of the team entirely.

Rohr will have to make do without reliable midfielder Wilfred Ndidi for October’s games as the Leicester City midfielder is reportedly injured while Watford star Oghenekaro Etebo is also ruled out.

That means that Brentford star Frank Onyeka has a chance to start for the team in a competitive game while Innocent Bonke who made his debut against Cape Verde is also invited.

After Thursday’s game in Lagos, Nigeria’s contingent will then travel to Douala, Cameroon where both teams will play the second installment of the double header on Sunday October 9, 2021. CAR currently play their home games in Douala.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Calvin Ughelumba (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland); Innocent Bonke (Malmo FF, Sweden); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Kalu (FC Bordeaux, France); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.