Sadio Mane voted Senegal Footballer of the year

Sadio Mane voted Senegal Footballer of the year

Liverpool star Sadio Mane has been named Senegalese Footballer of the Year after besting countryman Kalidou Koulibaly to clinch the award for the sixth time in a row.

Mané totalled 290 points over the Napoli defender’s 133 points to top the individual category of the awards organised by the Association of Senegal sports journalists (ANPS).

Paris Saint Germain maestro Idrissa Gueye came third with 20 points.

Mané is seen as the strongest candidate among the five Africans on the 30-man list of this year’s Ballon d’Or.

Now Liberia president George Weah remains the only African to have won the Ballon d’Or, in 1995.

The winner will be announced on December 2.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.