Ebuehi and Omeruo miss out as Rohr names 23 man squad

Ebuehi and Omeruo miss out as Rohr names 23 man squad

South African based goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi is number one on the list of invited players as Nigeria prepare for their penultimate 2018 World Cup qualifier against Zambia on October 7.

According to the list revealed on the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) website on Tuesday morning, Akpeyi who was released from camp in the buildup to Nigeria’s last games against Cameroon is rewarded for returning to the post for his South African side Chippa United.

The 23-man squad consists of virtually the same set of players that prosecuted the last games against Cameroon meaning there is no place for Turkey-based defender Kenneth Omeruo.

The team will be led to Uyo by China-based duo of captain John Mikel Obi and Odion Ighalo while struggling Leicester City duo of Kelechi Iheanacho and Ahmed Musa are also on the list.

Mbesuma of Zambia Vs Nigeria in the first game

Two players who featured in the just ended West African Football Union (WAFU) Cup of Nations, Ifeanyi Ifeanyi and Afeez Aremu were placed on standby alongside dropped duo, Dele Alampasu and Tyronne Ebuehi.

Nigeria welcome Zambia on Saturday, October 7 at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium, Uyo with a victory guaranteeing their sixth FIFA World Cup appearance in Russia next summer with a game to spare in qualifying.


All invited players are to report in Uyo on Monday, 2nd October 2017.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Dele Ajiboye (Plateau United FC)
Defenders: William Troost-Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Elderson Echiejile (Sivasspor FC, Turkey); Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium); Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); Ola Aina (Hull City, England)
Midfielders: Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey)
Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Odion Ighalo (Chang Chun-Yatai, China); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Anthony Nwakaeme (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)
STANDBY: Dele Alampasu (Cesarense FC, Portugal); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Aaron Samuel (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Afeez Aremu (Akwa United); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Akwa United)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.