Asaba 2018: Dibaba, African greats in CAA Hall of Fame

Asaba 2018: Dibaba, African greats in CAA Hall of Fame

Tirunesh Dibaba leads other top African athletes to be inducted into the Confederation of African Athletics (CAA) Hall of Fame before the 2018 African Athletics Championship gets underway in Asaba.

The induction will be done at the Welcome Dinner for athletes and officials participating at the 21st African Athletics Championships in Asaba on July 31 at 5pm.

Nigeria sprint queen, Blessing Okagbare-Ighoteguonor alongside other members of Team Nigeria’s 4×200 quartet that won gold at the 2016 IAAF World Relay in Bahamas will be inducted.

They include: Dominique Duncan, Regina George and Christy Udoh.

African 100m record holder, Olusoji Fasuba and Commonwealth Gold medallist Tosin Oke are two other Nigerians that will be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Delta State Governor Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, IAAF President Sebastian Coe, CAA President Hamad Kalkaba, and members of his executive committee, top government officials at Federal and State level, diplomats and the LOC led by its Chairman Solomon Ogba will grace the occasion.

It won’t be an all Nigerian affair as Olympic and World Champion Tirunesh Dibaba from Ethiopia will be inducted into the Hall of Fame, her compatriot Mesert Defar who has also won medals at the Olympics and the World Championship.

Other Ethiopians on the list include Genzebe Dibaba a World Record holder, Almaz Ayana an Olympic and World Champion and Kenenisa Bekele a legend in long distance, road races, marathon and a World Record holder.

South Africa duo of Caster Semanya and Wayde van Nieckert both Olympics and World Champions will be inducted.

Also on the list are Kenyan trio of Vivian Cherivyot, the king of 800m David Rudisha and Ezekiel Kemboi.

    Leave a Reply