Akhator, Quadri win 2018 Nigerian Sports Award

Akhator, Quadri win 2018 Nigerian Sports Award

Africa’s highest-ranked table tennis player, Aruna Quadri and D’Tigress star Evelyn Akhator both emerged the most immense sport personality in Nigeria, man and woman of the year respectively, in the 2018 Nigerian Sports Awards.

The duo emerged the star of the night at a grand ceremony of the 7th edition of the Nigerian Sports Awards held in Lagos on Friday.

Quadri who is world-ranked 20th, beat D’Tigers captain Ike Diogu and Super Eagles forward Ahmed Musa, while Akhator saw off from two- time Commonwealth Wrestling champion, Odunayo Adekuoroye and Bobsled’s Simidele Adeagbo.

Akhator also won the Basketball Player of the Year beating Ike Diogu and her team captain, Adora Elonu.

The footballer of the year was awarded to Ahmed Musa ahead of Rasheedat Ajibade and Kenneth Omeruo

Nigeria most decorated female wrestler, Odunayo Adekuoroye beat John Emmanuel and Eight-time African champion, Blessing Oborududu to emerge wrestler of the Year.

In the category of coach of the year, Nigeria Para Powerlifting coach, Are Feyisetan beat the Super Eagles Coach, Gernot Rohr and D’Tigress Coach, Otis Hugley.

Yemisi Olatunji beat Nigeria number one Table Tennis player Aruna Quadri and US based Tennis player, Marylove Edward to win the Racket Sportsperson of the Year award.

The Para (Special) Sports Person of the Year award went to World Record holder and Three-time Commonwealth champion, Esther Oyema, beating Bose Omolayo and Paul Kehinde.

Track and field star of the year award was won by ace sprinter, Tobiloba Amusan, who saw off Ese Brume and Joy Udoh-Gabriel.

For the team sports person of the year, a member of the Bobsled Team at the Winter Olympics, Seun Adigun beat Nigeria U-20 handball player, Kingsley Okubuike to emerge winner.

The Discovery of the Year Award went to Joy Udoh-Gabriel who beat Africa Junior wrestling champion, Simisola Balogun and Rasheed Omidiji.

President of the Badminton Federation of Nigeria, Francis Orbih took the lead beating Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) President Amaju Pinnick, President of Nigeria Basketball President Musa Kida and Squash President Boye Oyerinde to the Sports Administrator of the Year,

In the Media Category, the Journalist of the Year (Print), Gowon Akpodonor of The Guardian Newspaper emerged winner, Photo Journalist of the Year went to Akeem Salau, while the Journalist of the Year Award (Radio) went to George Essien of Comfort 95.1 FM, Uyo.

1 Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.