AFCONQ: Eagles begin training for Libya on Wednesday

AFCONQ: Eagles begin training for Libya on Wednesday

Nigeria’s senior national team, the Super Eagles will begin full training ahead of this weekend’s Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Libya on Wednesday in Uyo, Southern Nigeria.

Many Super Eagles players were confronted with varying logistics issues which affected their arrival to camp as scheduled on Monday but with the arrival of twenty players as at Tuesday afternoon, the team can now go on with their plans.

Acting captain Ahmed Musa led seventeen other players to camp on Wednesday after the duo of Oluwasemilogo Ajayi and William Troost-Ekong had arrived the Ibom Meridien Hotels and Resort camp on Monday.

Ostensibly due to the late arrivals, the earlier advertised open training session for Tuesday evening was cancelled by the team’s head coach Gernot Rohr with a gym session favoured in stead of the training ground routine.

The team will now begin training at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium mainbowl on Wednesday ahead of Saturday’s encounter. China based striker Odion Ighalo and Russia based full back Bryan Idowu are expected to have joined the team before their first full training session on Wednesday.

The Libyan Football Federation confirmed on Monday that a 54 –man delegation comprising players, technical crew, backroom staff and LFF officials will fly into Ibom International Airport, Uyo aboard a chartered aircraft on Thursday.

Libya top group E of the qualifying series with four points from two matches, same as South Africa with Nigeria trailing them by one point.

Saturday’s game has been scheduled for 4:00pm local time. Both teams will meet again in Sfax, Tunisia on Tuesday, October 16.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Elche FC, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders : Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany)

Midfielders : Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards : Ahmed Musa (Al Nasr FC, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Italy); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux FC, France); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.