NFF/ Aiteo Football Awards: Moses, Oshoala biggest winners, Chukwu, Odegbami recognised

NFF/ Aiteo Football Awards:  Moses, Oshoala biggest winners, Chukwu, Odegbami recognised

It was the gathering of the high and mighty at the maiden edition of the NFF/Aiteo Football Awards held at the Eko Hotels and Suites. Victoria Island, Lagos on Monday.

Super Eagles star, Victor Moses, and his Super Falcons counterpart, Asisat Oshoala, were the biggest winners on the historic night.

Moses was crowned the men’s player of the year, beating competition from Leicester City’s Wilfred Ndidi, and Anthony Okpotu of Lobi Stars, while Oshoala went home with the women’s player of the year.

The Football Awards night was the first of it’s kind by the football governing body, NFF, as they went all out to reward players and coaches in partnership with Aiteo.

Moses and Oshoala may have won the biggest awards of the night, but they weren’t the only ones who left with one in their hands.

2017 Nigeria Professional Football League, NPFL, winning coach, Kennedy Boboye of Plateau United, won the best coach award, with Chan Eagles star, Ikouwem Udoh beating Stephen Okey and Nura Muhammed to the young player of the year award.

Another winner on the night was Rasheedat Ajibade, who was named the women’s young player of the year, while Mountain of Fires and Miracles, MFM FC, star, Sikiru Olatunbosun’s screamer against Rangers International was named goal of the season.

Meanwhile, there was also a special recognition for past players, who served the country meticulously, with the likes of Austin Okocha, Christian Chukwu, and Segun Odegbami named in a ‘Legends Eleven’ squad.

The Awards ceremony was well attended by the creme de la creme of Nigerian and world football, including President of the world football governing body, FIFA, Gianni Infantino, who was declared winner of the platinum award.

Full Awards:
Coach of the year; Kennedy Boboye
Men’s player of the year: Victor Moses
Women’s player of the year; Asisat Oshoala
Young male player of the year: Ikouwem Udoh
Young female player of the year; Rasheedat Ajibade
Fans of the year; El-Kanemi Warriors
Women’s coach of the year; Ann Chiejine
Goal of the year; Sikiru Olatunbosun

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.