NBBF invites 20 players for Commonwealth Games

NBBF invites 20 players for Commonwealth Games

Nigeria Basketball Federation has called up 20 players from the Kwese Premier Basketball League to camp ahead of the 2018 Commonwealth Games in Australia.

According to the release signed by the Secretary of the NBBF, Chimezie Asiegbu and sent to the respective clubs, the camping exercise will be supervised by the duo of D’Tigers assistant coaches, Abdulrahman Mohammed of Gombe Bulls and Aderemi Adewunmi of Kwara Falcons in Lagos.

The 20 man list is dominated by 7 players from Kano Pillars while Gombe Bulls who recently made their continental debut have 4 players in the provisional list. Mark Mentors of Abuja have 2 players while ASPAC basketball club of Benin, Rivers Hoopers, Bauchi Nets, Kwara Falcons, Niger Potters and Civil Defenders of Abuja all have 1 player each on the list.

A member of the 2017 Afrobasket silver winning team and Most Valuable Player of the FIBA Africa Zone 3 club championship elimination, Abdul Yahaya was expectedly recalled to the fold alongside Dike Azouma who powered the D’Tigers to their first 3×3 continental trophy in 2017.

Also on the list is Bulls inspirational captain, Yakubu Sylvanus, Mark Mentors reliable leader, Usman Musa and Kano Pillars 3points legend, Usman Abubakar.

The D’Tigers will be participating in the XXI commonwealth Games, 2018 Gold Coast, in Queensland, Australia between April 4-15.

Players and Officials are expected to report to camp on January 5th with their travel documents as traveling arrangements and registration of players are expected to commence immediately.

Full list of invited players

Yakubu Abdulwahab (Gombe Bulls), Usman Musa (Mark Mentors), Usman Abubakar ( Kano Pillars) Precious OsigbodI (ASPAC), Okpe Ocheibi (Mark Mentors), Okeke Jamil (Gombe Bulls), Ogenyi Mathew (Kano Pillars), Koko Victor Anthony  (Rivers Hoopers), Istifanus Yakubu Sylvanus (Gombe Bulls), Eli Abraham, Dike Azuoma (Kano Pillars), Akita Akpata (Bauchi Nets), Ademola Dele, Abdul Yahaya (Kano Pillars), Dennis Ibikoro, Godwin David      (Kwara Falcons), Ibe Agu (Gombe Bulls), Gideon George ( Niger Potters), Subel Lucky (Kano Pillars), Joel Ejigba (Defenders).

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.