CAF Awards gala leaves Nigeria for Ghana

CAF Awards gala leaves Nigeria for Ghana

The upcoming CAF Awards will not hold in Nigeria like has been the case for a couple of years now while the event was under the sponsorship of Globacom Limited (GLO), a Nigerian multinational telecommunications company.

The Confederation of African Football says the 2017 edition will be held in Accra, Ghana on January 4, 2018 under a new sponsor, AITEO, a Nigerian energy conglomerate. The best of African players, males and females, coaches and teams are honoured during the annual gala, with the flagship gong reserved for the Africa

Riyad Mahrez with his Award

Footballer of the Year currently held by Algerian Riyad Mahrez. The list of nominees is yet to be released by CAF. Cameroon is the country with the highest number of recipients of the Africa Footballer of the Year, 11 in total, followed by Ivory Coast, 8, Ghana, 6, and Nigeria, 5.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.