Russia 2018: Icardi, Dybala in Argentina’s provisional squad

Russia 2018: Icardi, Dybala in Argentina’s provisional squad

Super Eagles’ World Cup foes Argentina have named Italy based duo Mauro Icardi and Paulo Dybala among the thirty five players shortlisted for participation at this summer’s 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia.

Head coach Jorge Sampaoli announced the roster on Monday, the deadline for all thirty two teams heading for Russia to announce their provisional list of players for the World Cup.

Sampaoli sprung no surprises in his announcement as regular names such as captain Lionel Messi, Manchester City forward Sergio Aguero and China based Javier Mascherano were all included in the list submitted to world football governing body, FIFA on Monday.

Despite omitting him from the Seleçion’s last friendlies, Inter Milan forward Icardi was called up by the former Chile coach. Another name which Sampaoli has often been questioned about, Dybala is also in the mix.

The Argentine Football Federation also confirmed on Monday that Sampaoli will prune down the squad to a final list of twenty-three which will be announced in a week’s time at the Argentine capital, Buenos Aires.

Champions in 1978 and 1986, Argentina will open their 2018 campaign against Iceland at the Otkritie Arena in Moscow on June 16. They will face Croatia five days later before wrapping up their group stage schedule against Nigeria at St Petersburg.

The Provisional List

Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero [Manchester United], Wilfredo Caballero [Chelseas], Franco Armani [River Plate], Nahuel Guzman [Tigres]

Defenders: Gabriel Mercado [Sevilla], Federico Fazio [Roma], Marcos Rojo [Manchester United], Nicolas Otamendi [Manchester City], Ramiro Funes Mori [Everton], German Pezzella [Fiorentina], Nicolás Tagliafico [Ajax], Cristian Ansaldi [Torino]

Midfielders: Javier Mascherano [Hebei China Fortune], Eduardo Salvio [Benfica], Marcos Acuna [Sporting CP], Leandro Paredes [Zenit St Petersburg], Pablo Perez [Boca Juniors], Rodrigo Battaglia [Sporting CP], Ever Banega [Sevilla], Enzo Perez [River Plate], Lucas Biglia [Milan], Manuel Lanzini [West Ham United], Giovani Lo Celso [Paris Saint-Germain], Maximiliano Meza [Independiente], Ángel Di Maria [Paris Saint-Germain], Diego Perotti [Roma], Guido Pizarro [Sevilla], Ricardo Centurion [Racing Club]

Forwards: Lionel Messi [Barcelona], Sergio Aguero [Manchester City], Gonzalo Higuain [Juventus], Lautaro Martinez [Racing Club], Cristian Pavon [Boca Juniors], Paulo Dybala [Juventus], Mauro Icardi [Inter]

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.