U20WAFU B: Flying Eagles leave Abuja for Niamey

U20WAFU B: Flying Eagles leave Abuja for Niamey

Nigeria national U20 team; the Flying Eagles will on Thursday morning leave Abuja for Niamey, Niger Republic ahead of next month’s West African Football Union (WAFU) B U20 championship.

The team have been in the nation’s capital city for two weeks now, sweating it out in preparation for the regional qualification tournament for the U20 Africa Cup of Nations billed to hold next year.

On Wednesday, team’s head coach Ladan Bosso released a list of 28 players who he intends to use to prosecute the tournament. Topping the list are Enyimba centre back Oluwatosin Adegbite and Plateau United forward Albert Hilary. 

Flying Eagles players for WAFU B U20

 The team will leave Abuja at about 11am Nigerian time on Thursday aboard an Air Coted’voire flight with a brief stopover in Abidjan en route to Niamey, the Nigerian capital.

The Flying Eagles will face familiar foes Ghana in their first match of the competition on Sunday, May 8, before they take on Burkina Faso three days later. Both matches hold at the General Seyni Kountche Stadium in Niamey.

Two teams will sail into the semi finals from each group, with the two finalists qualifying to represent the WAFU B zone at the 2023 Africa U20 Cup of Nations.

Egypt will host the 2023 Africa U20 Cup of Nations while Indonesia will host the 2023 FIFA U20 World Cup finals. All four semi finalists from the tournament in Egypt will qualify to represent Africa in Indonesia.

Flying Eagles squad

Goalkeepers: Nathaniel Nwosu (Water FC); Chijioke Aniagboso (Giant Brillars); Saheed Jimoh (Adoration FC)

Defenders: Opeyemi Omooloyi (Akure City); Abubakar Babaji (Niger Tornadoes); Lekan Oyedele (Remo Stars); Oluwatosin Adegbite (Enyimba FC); Augustine Njoku (Abia Warriors); Chikezie Okolie (Giant Brillars); Bolu David Sholumade (Akwa United); Benjamin Frederick (ABS FC)

Midfielders: Anas Hassan (Vandrezzer FC); Daniel Daga (FC One Rocket); Oluwaseyi Falodun (Jossy United); Samson Lawal (Katsina United); Onuche Ogbelu (Fosla Academy); Muhammad Aminu (Gombe United); Muhammad Shehu (Katsina United); Frederick Godwin (City FC)

Forwards: Adams Olubi (FK Zalgris Vilnius, Lithuania); Tolulope Ojo (Remo Stars); Ibrahim Muhammad (Maikunkele FC); Ibrahim Yahaya (Gombe United); Rilwanu Haliru Sarki (Mahanaim FC); Divine Nwachukwu (Adoration FC); Ahmed Abdullahi (HB Academy); Abdullahi Adam (Nasarawa United); Albert Hilary (Plateau United)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.