10 Nigerian lifters for World Para Powerlifting Championships

10 Nigerian lifters for World Para Powerlifting Championships

Ten lifters have been selected for the 2017 World Para Powerlifting Championships. The World Championship will hold from September 30 to October 6, 2017 in Mexico City, Mexico.

The parapowerlifters consist of six females; Latifat Tijani (45kg), Lucy Ejike (61Kg), Olaitan Ibrahim (67kg), Ndidi Nwosu (73kg), Bose Omolayo (79kg), Lovely Obiji (86kg) and four males: Yakubu Adesokan (47kg) Roland Ezurike (54kg), Paul Kehinde (55kg) and Nnamdi Innocent (72kg).

The team has six paralympics gold medalists, one silver and one bronze medalists. Among them are four world record holders.

World championships debutant, Paul Kehinde told Aclsports.com that he intends to set another world record at the championships in Mexico.

Kehinde twice broke the men’s -65kg World Record (WR) to win Gold in the Powerlifting event at the last Olympics.
The 28-year-old lifted an astonishing 220kg to claim gold in style at the Rio Games.

Paralympics gold medalist, Lucy Ejike is another strong candidate and will seek to maintain her winning streak.

Ejike who is a five-time paralympian also intends to claim the title at her first world championships in Mexico City.

“After appearing in five paralympics from Sydney 2000 to 2016 in Rio, I’m happy to appear at my first world championship. I promise to put in my very best and win another gold medal for Nigeria,” she said.

Another Nigerian seeking for redemption is Adesokan Yakubu after missing out of the 2016 Paralympics Games in Rio.

Yakubu claimed his Paralympic gold in the men’s up to 49kg and is ready for the 2017 World Championship.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.