NWFL: Sunshine Queens, Ibom Angels, three others demoted 

NWFL: Sunshine Queens, Ibom Angels, three others demoted 
The Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) on Wednesday announced that it has demoted five Premiership clubs for their inability to complete registration and players licensing regulations ahead of the start of the new season.
In a release made available to www.aclsports.com, the league’s Chairperson Aisha Falode noted that the decision was taken by the board, after invoking the NWFL rules and regulations on failure to register at the time set out by the NWFL Secretariat for such procedures.
2014 Federation Cup beaten finalists, Sunshine Queens, 2018 Aiteo Cup beaten finalists Ibom Angels, Heartland Queens of Owerri, Adamawa Queens of Yola and Dream Stars Ladies of Lagos are the five teams that will now drop to the second division, Championship.
The demotion of the five clubs means that only eleven teams will campaign in the NWFL Premiership when the new season commences on December 9, 2020.
Corroborating the announcement made by the Chairperson of the NWFL, the league’s Chief Operating Officer, Mrs. Faith Ben-Anuge, said in a statement that: “Following the closure of registration for the 2020/2021 NWFL Premiership Season, we hereby write to inform you of clubs licensed and eligible to participate in the upcoming NWFL 2020/2021 Premiership Season.
“Consequently, clubs not listed below are automatically disqualified and relegated to participate in the NWFL Championship Season. Licensed and eligible clubs are listed below:
1. FC Robo Queens Fc.
2. Nasarawa Amazons FC.
3. Edo Queens Fc.
4. Osun Babes Fc.
5. Bayelsa Queens Fc.
6. Royal Queens Fc.
7. Abia Angels Fc.
8. Rivers Angels Fc.
9. Delta Queens Fc.
10. Pelican Stars Fc.
11. Confluence Queens Fc.”
The C.O.O noted that, the defaulting clubs are also listed below for the purpose of clarity and a fresh Draws will be made for the 2020/2021 NWFL Premiership Season will be conducted.
The clubs relegated to the NWFL Championship are:
1. Sunshine Queens Fc.
2. Dream Stars Fc.
3. Ibom Angels Fc.
4. Adamawa Queens Fc.
5. Heartland Queens Fc.”

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.