Oreyo and Adedoyin rated best at Channels track and field

Oreyo and Adedoyin rated best at Channels track and field

Oreyo Senior Grammar School have emerged overall winners of the inaugural edition of the Channels track and field U-17 Classics.

A total number of 52 schools in Lagos State with over 1000 students participated in the two-day event at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos.

The athletes competed in eight events: 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m, 400m hurdles, Long jump, 4x100m relay and 4x400m relay.

Oreyo Senior Grammar School won 4 Gold and 1 Bronze to emerge overall winner, Federal Government College Ijanikin took second with 3 Gold, 1 Silver and 1 Bronze; Kingsfield took third with 2 Gold and 2 Silver while Tindip College finished fourth with 2 Gold medals. Green Spring College, St. Gregory’s College, Homat Comprehensive, Lagos African Church, Babington Macaulay and State Senior High school took fifth-tenth respectively.

In some of the categories won, St. Gregory’s Chiemeka Ogbogu clinched Gold in 11.8 secs, Benjamin Oshiaji of St Finbarrs took Silver in 11.9 secs while Ige Ekene Nwankwo of Babington Macaulay got Bronze in 12.2 secs.

Alimot Alowonle of Tindip College claimed the Gold medal in 12.8 secs, Blessing Inavwhe of Anthony Village won Silver in 13.4 secs while Feyisara Odukoya of Green Springs finished in third in a time of 13.6 secs in the 100m girls event.

In the 200m event, Alowonle Alimot of Tindip College took Gold in 26.2 secs, Blessing Inavwhe of Anthony Village won Silver in 27.6 secs while Kayinsola lawal of Homat Group settled for Bronze in 28.2 secs.

In the male event, Fatola Adedoyin of Oreyo Senior Grammar School won Gold in 23.2 secs, Kabiru Mohammed of State Senior High in 23.4 secs won Silver while Benjamin Oshiaji of St Finbarr’s college took Bronze in 23.6 secs.

The 4x 100m relay was watched with keen interest as bragging rights was at stake among the schools that participated. FGC Ijanikin got to the finish line first in a time of 45.5 secs, CMS Grammar School took Silver in 45.7 secs and Igbobi College settled for Bronze in 45.9secs.

Apapa Secondary School, Green Springs, St. Finbarrs, Baptist Academy and St. Gregory’s finished fourth-eigth respectively.

The girls category was won by Kingsfield College in 55.0 secs, Baptist Girls Academy was second in 55.3 secs and FGC Ijanikin third in 56.1secs.

In the 4x400m relay boys final, FGC Ijanikin made it a double in the relay in a time of 3:38.50 secs while St. Gregory’s College won Silver in 3:42.29 secs and Apostolic Grammar School took Bronze in 3:45.97 secs.

In the girls category, Babington Macaulay won Gold in 4:42.25 secs, State Senior High School second in 4:49.86 secs and Green Springs finished third in 4:52.20 secs.

Fatola Adedoyin of Oreyo Senior Grammar School was awarded the best male athlete for his double title in the 400m and 200m. Chiemeka Ogbogu was second after winning Gold in the 100m while Matthew Ogon who won the 800m took third.

Ogbogu told ACLSports he intends to become a star athlete like Usain Bolt in the future.

“I feel happy winning my second official competition outside my school. The first one I finished second and I told myself that I want to run faster than the other boys. I have been running since I was in primary school and I hope to continue and be like Usain Bolt in the future,” he said

In the female category, double champion in the 100m and 200m Alimot Alowonle was awarded the best athlete, Zainab Wahab who won Gold in the 800m and second in the 400m was rated second best athlete while Daara Goodluck of Green Springs College was third. Goodluck won Gold in Long jump, Bronze in the 4x400m and 400m.


    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.