NPFL: Pillars go goal crazy, Akwa Utd win at last

NPFL: Pillars go goal crazy, Akwa Utd win at last

Former Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) Champions, Kano Pillars marked their turnaround from an early season lethargy with an emphatic 6-1 win over Delta Force while Akwa United also recorded their first win of the season.

At the Sani Abacha Stadium in Kano, Pillars won for the first time at home this term courtesy of a brace by striker Chijioke Alaekwe and further strikes by David Ebuka Odenigbo, Auwalu Ali, Abdullahi Musa and star act Rabiu Ali.

Ndifreke Effiong netted a hattrick as Akwa United secured their first win of the season at the seventh attempt. The Promise Keepers walloped Adamawa United 4-0 at the Nest of Champions to ease the pressure on head coach John Obuh.

While Akwa United were winning for the first time, table toppers Plateau United lost for the first time when they were undone 0-1 defeat at Heartland FC. Chibundu Amah scored the only goal that sunk Abdu Maikaba’s men.

Striker Israel Abia recorded a huge milestone when he scored all four goals in his side Sunshine Stars’ 4-2 win over Nasarawa United. Winger Chidi Solomon had given United the lead before the Abia show began.

Abia Warriors 1-1 Akwa Starlets
Jimoh Oni 50’ – Eso Archibong 58’

Heartland 1-0 Plateau Utd
Chibundu Amah 73’

Akwa Utd 4-0 Adamawa Utd
Ndifreke Effiong 6’, 14’, 69’, Paul Obata 25’

Kano Pillars 6-1 Delta Force
David Ebuka 3’, Abdullahi Musa 20’, Auwalu Ali 50’, Rabiu Ali 61’, Chijioke Alaekwe77’, 87’ – Bala Yahuza 58’

Katsina Utd 1-0 MFM FC
Tasiu Lawal 8’ (PEN)

Sunshine Stars 4-2 Nasarawa Utd
Israel Abia 39′, 45+2’, 48’, 79’ – Chidi Solomon 36′, Mohammed Manga 40’

FC Ifeanyiubah 2-0 Wikki
Tochukwu Anueyiagu 49’, Ikenna Cooper 85’

Warri Wolves 0-0 Lobi Stars

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.