Golden Boy Award Shocker: Victor Osimhen misses out

Golden Boy Award Shocker: Victor Osimhen misses out

Super Eagles forward, Victor Osimhen, has been ignored for the 2019 Golden Boy Award with national teammate, Samuel Chukwueze, and Tom Dele-Bashiru the only Nigerians listed.

Italian publication, Tuttosports, revealed a 40-man list on Wednesday with Chukwueze of Villarreal and Watford’s Dele-Bashiru flying the Nigerian colour.

19-year-old Osimhen, who recently joined Ligue 1 side, LOSC Lille, was a conspicuous omission despite a brilliant campaign for Sporting Charleroi in the Belgian league last season.

He was one of Nigeria’s most potent scorers in Europe last season, scoring 20 goals in all competitions for Charleroi before sealing a €12m move to Lille in the summer of 2019.

This season, Osimhen has continued from where he stopped, contributing six goals, five goals and one assist in six outings for Lille in the French Ligue 1.

Earlier this month, the youngster opened his Super Eagles account when he scored in the 2-2 draw against Ukraine in an international friendly.

Meanwhile, Chukwueze announced his arrival in LaLiga last season with five goals in 26 matches in what was his debut campaign.

Dele-Bashiru was in Nigeria’s U-20 2019 World Cup in Poland, where he scored one goal in three matches before moving to Watford on a free transfer from Manchester City.

No African has ever won the Golden Boy Award, which is for players under the age of 21 and voted for by journalists.

2018 winner, Matthijs de Ligt could defend his title after being nominated for the 2019 edition, the 17th edition of the Award.

Full List of Nominees

Benoit Badiashile (AS Monaco), Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal), Michael Cuisance (Bayern Munich), Tom Dele-Bashiru (Watford), Matthijs De Ligt (Juventus), Krépin Diatta (Club Brugge), Giuanluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan), Denis Dragus (Standard Liege), Eljif Elmas (Napoli), Florentino Luís (Benfica), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Mattéo Guendouzi (Arsenal)
Erling Braut Haaland (RB Salzburg), Kai Havertz (Bayer Leverkusen), Alexander Isak (Real Sociedad), Joao Félix (Atlético Madrid), Dejan Joveljic (Eintracht Frankfurt), Boubacar Kamara (Marseille), Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich), Moise Kean (Everton), Justin Kluivert (Roma)
Ibrahima Konaté (RB Leipzig), Rodrygo Goes (Real Madrid), Alban Lafont (Nantes), Diego Lainez (Real Betis), KangIn Lee (Valencia), Andriy Lunin (Real Valladolid, on loan,  Donyell Malen (PSV), Mason Mount (Chelsea)
Nehuén Pérez (Famalicao), Reiss Nelson (Arsenal), Abdulkadir Omur (Trabzonspor,  Strahinja Pavlovic (Partizan Belgrade), Rafael Leao (AC Milan), Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid) Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Luis Sinisterra (Feyenoord), Jean-Clair Todibo (Barcelona), Ferran Torres (Valencia), Nicolo Zaniolo (Roma).

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.