FIFAU20WC: Ukraine beat Korea to win World U20 title

FIFAU20WC: Ukraine beat Korea to win World U20 title

Ukraine has won their first ever Under-20 title after a comprehensive 3-1 victory over the Korea Republic at the Lodz stadium, Poland.

The Europeans had to do it the hard way, however, coming from a goal down to put three past their fellow first-timer in the FIFA Under-20 World Cup, Korea, courtesy of a brace from Vladyslav Supriaha.

Korea got off to a brilliant start when they took an early lead thanks to a VAR assisted penalty, which Lee Kangin calmly converted to put them 1-0 up in the 5th minute.

But Ukraine was back level four minutes after the half-hour mark when Korea was punished for failing to clear their lines as Supriaha latched on to a loose ball to equalise for Ukraine.

1-1 it ended at half time with Ukraine ending the half on the front foot, and looked the more likely to add to the scoreline.

After the restart, it was Ukraine who indeed added to the scoreline just eight minutes into the second half.

Put through one-on-one with the goalkeeper after a Yukhym Konoplia’s deflected shot found its way into his way, Supriaha completed his brace with a cool finish to put Ukraine in front for the first time in the game.

There would a late drama as Ukraine killed Korea’s hope of possibly taking the game into extra time and penalties when Heorhii Tsitaishvili sealed the win and title with the third goal with 89 minutes on the clock.

Tsitaishvili let fly from an effort from range which found the corner of the net after running from his own half to seal his country’s first ever Under-20 title.

With the result, Ukraine has been crowned winners of the 2019 edition in Poland and World Champions at the Under-20 level, after never having gone beyond the round of 16 in their history.

Korea’s Lee named Poland 2019 Best Player

In a related development, it was a form of consolation for Korea, after Kangin Lee was named the 2019 FIFAU20WC most valuable player.

The Valencia youngster was handed the golden ball after his country lost in the final to Ukraine on Saturday.

Other awards winners include Ukraine’s first choice goalkeeper, Andriy Lunin, who received the Golden Gloves, while Erling Harland won the Adidas Golden Ball after scoring nine goals.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.