AiteoCup: Bayelsa United book final spot with Nasarawa

AiteoCup: Bayelsa United book final spot with Nasarawa

The fairy tale run of Bayelsa United in the 2021 Aiteo Cup continued on Friday as the second division side booked a spot in the final of this year’s competition after a 1-0 win over Rivers United.

Playing at the Agege Township Stadium, Lagos, the Nigeria National League (NNL) side edged their neighbours courtesy of a brilliantly executed second half volley by Inikurogha Okardi.

Barely a minute after Bayelsa went in front, Rivers United were handed a chance back into the game with a penalty call but left sided midfielder Bakary Bamba saw his effort saved by Bayelsa goalkeeper John Shaibu.

The win means that Bayelsa United succeeded in beating three top division sides on their way to the final. They had beaten Rangers International and Lobi Stars before adding the scalp of their more illustrious neighbours on Friday.

Bayelsa United will now face Nasarawa United in the August 8 final after the Solid Miners outlasted Sunshine Stars in sudden death penalties after regulation time had ended 2-2.

In the game decided at the Delta State Polytechnic, Ozoro, Nasarawa United went in front from the penalty spot in the 32nd minute through Silas Nwankwo but Sunshine levelled six minutes after the break courtesy of Fuad Ekelojuoti’s effort.

Nasarawa went back in front through Chinedu Ohanachom but in-form youngster Kolade Adeniji headed home another leveller in stoppage time to take the game straight to penalties.

Both sides converted their first five penalty kicks but 2016 Federation Cup beaten finalists Nasarawa, forged ahead into the final 6-5 on sudden death.

The 2021 Aiteo Cup final will hold at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin City on Sunday, August 8, 2021.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.