AITEO Cup: Akwa biggest winners as FCIU, Tornadoes exit Cup

AITEO Cup: Akwa biggest winners as FCIU, Tornadoes exit Cup

Defending champions Akwa United were once again the biggest winners in the AITEO Cup round of 32 games decided on Sunday when they thrashed Nigerian National League (NNL) side Aklosendi 5-2 at the Nnamdi Azikwe Stadium in Enugu.

While the champions continue to enjoy a plain sailing ride in their title defence, more elite division sides were eliminated on Sunday with last year’s beaten finalists Niger Tornadoes the worst culprits, having been knocked out by Kogi United, a team alleged to have been suspended from participating in this year’s edition.

Free scoring midfielder Michael Ibe scored four goals for Akwa United who came from a goal down to score five beyond the NNL side with defender Emmanuel Ariwachukwu scoring Akwa’s first goal of the contest.

In Makurdi, Kogi United left it late with Ibrahim Enesi netting the winner against Tornadoes twelve minutes from time to eliminate the side which took Akwa United all the way to penalties in last year’s final.

Other Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) sides that were eliminated on Sunday include 2016 Federation Cup winners FC Ifeanyiubah and Go Round FC who were beaten by Julius Atete FC and Supreme Court FC in Port Harcourt and Akure respectively.

Former league champions Plateau United edge the only all-NPFL tie, beating Yobe Desert Stars 1-0 courtesy of Kabiru Umar’s second half goal.

AITEO Cup Round of 32 results

Akwa United 5-2 Aklosendi FC

Kebbi United 0-3 Rangers International

Kogi United 1-0 Niger Tornadoes

Nasarawa United 3-0 Standard FC

Yobe Desert Stars 0-1 Plateau United – Gombe

Remo Stars Junior (W/O) Rivers United – Remo failed to show up

Kano Pillars 2-0 Sokoto United

FC IfeanyiUbah 0-1 J. Atete FC

Crown FC 1-3 Abia Warriors

Go Round FC 1-1 Supreme Court (SC won on penalties)

Osun United Vs Katsina United – Abuja 2 (17/09)

Wikki Tourists Vs Bayelsa United – Makurdi 2 (17/09)

Dynamite Force Vs Enyimba FC – Nnewi

Cofine FC Vs Sunshine Stars – Warri 2 (17/09)

El-Kanemi Warriors Vs Katsina United Feeders – Jos 2 (17/09)

Mighty Jets vs Kwara United – Lokoja (17/09)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.