African Games: Nigeria Taekwondo Federation final team

African Games: Nigeria Taekwondo Federation final team

The Federation has released the final list of the sixteen athletes that will represent Nigeria at the Taekwondo event of the forthcoming African Games in Morocco.

The team consists of eight male and eight female athletes and will be led by National coaches; Alhaji Sani Lawal and John Victor, both graduates of the International Coaching Course run by the World Taekwondo – Kyung Hee University South Korea.

The male athletes are; Arinola Abdullateef (-54kg), Abdulfathi Sanusi (-58kg), Ifeoluwa Ajayi (-63kg), Shola Olowookere (-68kg), Bright Kolade (-74kg), Peter Itiku (-80kg), Sunday Onofe (-87kg) and Benjamin Okuomose (+87kg)

The female athletes are; Josephine Esuku (-49kg, Sekinat Adebayo (-49kg), Chinazum Nwosu (-53kg) Helen Okoko (-57kg), Vivian Ndu (-62kg), Elizabeth Anyanacho (-67kg), Uzoamaka Otuadinma (-73kg) and Chiamaka Onumonu (+73kg).

Commonwealth games champions, Shola Olowookere (-68kg) and Josephine Esuku (-49kg) will seek to better their performances at the African Games while defending African Champion, Uzoamaka Otuadinma (-73kg) aims her first African Games gold medal.

Head of Team Meeting and drawing of lots is expected to take place on 20th August 2019 while the three-day hostilities will begin on 21 August.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.