AFCON2021Q: Benin list Enyimba star, 22 others for Eagles

AFCON2021Q: Benin list Enyimba star, 22 others for Eagles

Nabil Yarou of Enyimba FC has been named by Nigeria’s opponents in this month’s 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier (AFCON2021Q) Benin and twenty-two (22) other foreign based stars for the all-important clash.

Head coach of the Squirrels of Benin, Michel Dussuyer announced his squad of 23 players on Thursday, leaving out high profile captain Stephane Sessegnon who has been without a club since August last year but has recalled Yarou.

Yarou, 27, played for the entire duration of the reverse fixture between Nigeria and Benin in Uyo in November, 2019 but missed the Squirrels’ last two matches in November last year due to the inactivity in the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL).

The centre back has now reclaimed his spot in the national team after tying down a regular spot with Enyimba in both domestic and CAF Confederation Cup games. He played full 90 minutes in Enyimba’s 1-1 draw at Warri Wolves on Wednesday.

READ ALSO: CAF appoint match officials for Benin/Eagles clash

Dussuyer has also called up Paris St Germain defender Collins Dagba as well as former Aston Villa forward Rudy Gestede for the game billed for March 27 at the Charles de Gaulle Stadium, Porto Novo.

Benin are currently placed second in Group L of the qualifying series with seven points from four matches, one adrift of their more illustrious neighbours and group leaders Nigeria whom they face in Porto Novo.

The first two teams in the group will join twenty-two other countries in Cameroon for Africa’s showpiece football event in January 2022.


Goalkeepers: Saturnin Allagbé (Dijon, France), Hariston Hessou (Bahir Dar, Ethopia), Marcel Dandjinou (JDR Stars FC, South Africa).

Defenders: Khaled Adénon (US Avranches, France), Youssouf Assogba (Amiens SC, France), Cédric Hountondji (Clermont Foot, France), David Kiki (PFC Montana, Bulgaria), Olivier Verdon (Ludogorets Razgrad, Bulgaria), Emmanuel Imorou (évian, France), Nabil Yarou (Enyimba, Nigeria), Collins Dagba (PSG, France).

Midfielders: Sessi d ‘Almeida (Valenciennes FC, France), Jérôme Bonou (Djoliba, Mali), Jordan Adéoti (Annecy FC, France), Rodrigue Cossi (Club Africain, Tunisia), Anaane Tidjani (Menemen Spor, Turkey), Cébio Soukou (Arminia Bielefeld, Germany), Jodel Dossou (Clermont Foot, France).

Forwards: Mickael Pote (Bandirmaspor, Turkey), Marcellin Koukpo (CR Belouizdad, Algeria), Jacques Bessan (Olympique Beja, Tunisia), Rudy Gestede (Melbourne, Australia), Steve Mounié (Stade Brest 29, France).

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.