Milo Sec School Basketball Championship ends in Ilorin

Milo Sec School Basketball Championship ends in Ilorin

University of Ilorin Secondary School, Ilorin and Thomas Adewunmi College, Oko have emerged champions of the 2017 edition of the Nestle Milo Secondary School, Basketball Championship which ended on Thursday in Ilorin, Kwara State.

The Unilorin boys defeated Thomas Adewunmi college, Oko 48-28 to lift the trophy. The champions started the game on a brighter note as they led at halftime by 23-17 points before running out victorious by 48-28 points.

Abdulgafar Fawaz won the Most Valuable Player in the male category to help Unilorin secondary school retain the trophy they won last year.

In the female category, Thomas Adewunmi College, Oko wrestled the title away from last year’s champion, St. Charles College, 29-28 points to clinch the top prize in the girls’ category.

Yahaya Ikram was repaid for her impressive performance for the Oko girls. She won the Most Valuable Player award.

Speaking at the end of the championship, chairman of the Kwara State basketball association, Dr. Joseph Adeyemo praised all the schools that competed for the championship.

He said, “We really appreciate all the schools that came for the championship. Without them we can’t have a successful event, also the school sports federation played their role.”

Adeyemo added “We are very happy to see that schools have been able to understand the objective of the competition which is to pick and breed talents.”

“We have set up a plan to improve talents picked from here as we believe developing these young athletes through sports participation.” He concluded

    Leave a Reply