Gov Wike Cup: Tochukwu, Arikpo, Kiribein, Tamara dominate Greco-Roman

Gov Wike Cup: Tochukwu, Arikpo, Kiribein, Tamara dominate Greco-Roman

African Bronze medalist, Tochukwu Okeke on Monday became Champion of the 82kg Greco-Roman Senior category.
The Army officer defeated Police officer Abraham Onyemelusi by 3-1 points in an epic match on Tuesday.

In the 63kg, John Arikpo of the Cross Rivers maintained his dominance narrowly beating Womi Biogo of Bayelsa state as Femi Adebayo of Nigeria Army placed third position.

The 72kg weight category was bloody as All African Games gold medalist, Emmanuel Nworie tormented Ituru Oke, an All African silver medalist beating him by 2-0 points. Bayelsa’s Perefaghe Kiribein humbled Ebe Desmond of Rivers State within sixty seconds in the 77kg to remain unshakable in his class.

John Arikpo

For the second time in 2017, Christopher Clark of Delta State is losing in the finals of the National Championships. The veteran could not contain the youthfulness of Taofeek Adegoke from Plateau State in the 60kg weight category.

Speaking with, an elated Tochukwu Okeke gave credit to God and the Nigeria Army for creating an enabling for him to train and excel.

Tobechukwu Okeke

He said that the Army made him participate at the military games in 2016 as well as the 2017 African championships. “Everyday, I train with an Olympian and African champion, Godswill Tiebri who is an officer. He tells me what to do and I follow to the letter”.

He said, “my next bus stop is the Africa Championship next year. I’ll go back and perfect some of my moves” he said.
Nworie on his part said it was painful he did not partake in the just concluded African Championships but will do the needful next year.
“I’m ready for the Africa Championship and all I want to win is a gold medal for my country Nigeria”, he said.

Other results:
1st- Romeo Joseph (Bayelsa state)
2nd- Jones Ebipaunkeme (Kano state)
3rd- Bassey Williams (Cross Rivers)

1st- Udeh Tobechukwu (Nasarawa)
2nd- Nathaniel Samuel (Bayelsa)

1st- Soso Tamara (Delta state)
2nd- Ebikabowe Samuel (Bayelsa state)
3rd- Okuro Augustine (Delta Club)

Ilukelu Patrick (Delta State)
Talarara Mamman (Nasarawa state)
Sinivie Boltic (Bayelsa state)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.