Oshoala, Rohr shortlisted for AITEO CAF Awards

Oshoala, Rohr shortlisted for AITEO CAF Awards

Nigeria’s Super Falcons star and reigning African Women’s Footballer of the year Asisat Oshoala has been nominated for the 2017 Award by the Confederation of African Football.

Oshoala, 23 scored twelve goals for Chinese side Dalian Quanjian in her debut season in China as they won the Chinese Super Cup.

She has been shortlisted alongside South African Chrestina Kgatlana, Cameroonian Gabrielle Onguene, Zimbabwean Rutendo Makore and Tabitha Chawinga from Malawi.

Victory for Oshoala will make it the third time in four years that the former Rivers Angels star will be winning the award – only Falcons legend, Perpetual Nkwocha has won the award more times, four.

In the meantime, Nigeria’s men national team coach Gernot Rohr has been shortlisted for the Coach of the year award in the 2017 AITEO CAF Awards.

Franco-German Rohr, led Nigeria through to the 2018 World Cup finals unscathed from a difficult qualifying group.

Rohr is joined in the nomination category by Africa Cup of Nations winning coach with Cameroon, Hugo Broos as well as his Egyptian counterpart Hector Cuper. L’Hussein Amotta who won the Champions League with Wydad Casablanca and Confederation Cup winner Mihayo Kazembe of TP Mazembe complete the managers shortlist.

Rohr’s team, the Super Eagles were also nominated for the National Team of the Year award while Nigeria’s national Under-20 team, the Falconets and their Ghanaian counterparts also made the shortlist for the Women’s National Team of the Year category.

Other categories announced by CAF on Monday include Club of the year, Youth Player of the Year and Referee of the year.

Nigeria’s Victor Moses and William Troost-Ekong are part of the nominees for the Footballer of the Year award which will be announced alongside all the recently released categories at the Awards Gala to be held on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in Accra, Ghana

The winners will be decided by votes from the members of the CAF Technical & Development Committee, CAF Media Experts Panel and Independent Media and TV Consultants.

The Nominees

Women’s Player of the Year
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)
Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)
Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & Rossyanka)
Rutendo Makore (Zimbabwe & Black Rhinos)
Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Kvarnsvedens)

Women’s National Team of the Year
Ghana U-20
Nigeria U-20
South Africa

Coach of the Year
Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)
Hector Cuper (Egypt)
Hugo Broos (Cameroon)
L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)
Mihayo Kazembe (TP Mazembe)

National Team of the Year
Mali U-17
Zambia U-20

Club of the Year
Al Ahly
Mbabane Swallows
SuperSport United
TP Mazembe
Wydad Athletic Club

Youth Player of the Year
Eric Ayiah (Ghana & Charity Stars)
Krepin Diatta (Senegal &Sarpsborg)
Luther Singh (South Africa & Braga)
Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)
Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)

Referee of the Year
Bamlak Tessema (Ethiopia)
Ghead Grisha (Egypt)
Janny Sikazwe (Zambia)
Malang Diedhiou (Senegal)
Mehdi Abid Charef (Algeria)
Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.