Kaduna State win of NCF National Women’s Championship 2017

Kaduna State win of NCF National Women’s Championship 2017

Kaduna State on Sunday defeated FCT by 31 runs to win the National Women’s Cricket Championship at the National Stadium, Abuja.

Kaduna led by coached by Zeal Ibe, overturned the tide late in the second inning by knocking out the FCT’s 10th wicket to win with 135 runs to their rivals’ 104 runs.

Kaduna scooped three individual awards that reinforced their rating as the best team.

Captain Blessing Nwobodo, emerged the Most Valuable Player and Batsman of the series with 124 runs, including three knock outs; Mary Desmond was named the Best Fielder by virtue of her five catches.

Blessing Nwobodo

The Best Bowler award was clinched by Kehinde Abdulkadir of Oyo State.

Six teams namely, Oyo, Anambra, Niger, Kaduna, Edo and FCT attended the event spread over three days. Edo edged Oyo to the third position.

President of the Nigeria Cricket Federation (NCF) Professor Adams Yahaya Ukwenya assured all that the federation will form the nucleus of the national team from the talents discovered at the championship

Ukwenya said that though the competition was a senior championship, most of the players were teenagers, who exhibited a high standard by scoring on the average over 100 runs.

“Though cricket is over 100 years old in Nigeria, female cricket is just 10 years and its popularity is soaring across the regions.

“We hope that some of the players will form the bulk of the national team. The federation will ensure that their techniques conform to international standard,” Ukwenya said.

Meanwhile, the National Men’s Championship is scheduled to start on November 30 in five regional venues with the Finals coming up in Ibadan and Lagos between December 5 and 9, 2017.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.