CAF Awards: Moses, Troost-Ekong nominated for African Player of the Year

CAF Awards: Moses, Troost-Ekong nominated for African Player of the Year

Super Eagles duo Victor Moses and William Troost-Ekong have been nominated for 2017’s African Player of the Year Award, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) announced on Wednesday.

Moses and Ekong played crucial roles in Nigeria’s successful qualification series for next year’s FIFA World Cup with the West African nation emerging as the first team to qualify from Africa.

Moses was Man-of-the-Match in their emphatic 4-0 win over Cameroon in Uyo and made the CAF XI for Match Days 3, 4 and 5 in the qualifying series. He was tipped here by Prof Onwumechili

Moses also had an accomplished season with his English side Chelsea, redefining himself in a right wing back role as Antonio Conte’s side cruised to the 2016/17 Premier League title.

Victor Moses has been influential for Nigeria

Troost-Ekong has forged a formidable partnership with Leon Balogun in Nigeria’s defence and the Bursaspor defender was the only Nigerian player to have completed ninety minutes in each of their five World Cup qualifiers.

Troost-Ekong has come a long way from here:

Both players are joined by twenty-eight other nominees for the Award which will be presented on January 4,2018 in Accra, Ghana.

The overall winner will be selected through votes expected to be cast by Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the national teams, members of the CAF Technical and Development Committee and a group of selected journalists.

The Nominees

1. Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)

2. Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso & Lyon)

3. Cedric Bakambu (DR Congo & Villareal)

4. Christian Atsu (Ghana & Newcastle)

5. Christian Bassogog (Cameroon & Henan Jianye)

6. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

7. Eric Bailly (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United)

8. Essam El Hadary (Egypt & Al Taawoun)

9. Fabrice Ondoa (Cameroon & Sevilla)

10. Fackson Kapumbu (Zambia & Zesco)

11. Jean Michel Seri (Cote d’Ivoire & Nice)

12. Junior Kabananga (DR Congo & Astana)

13. Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco & Feyenoord)

14. Keita Balde (Senegal & Monaco)

15. Khalid Boutaib (Morocco & Yeni Malatyaspor)

16. Mbwana Samata (Tanzania & Genk)

17. Michael Olunga (Kenya & Girona)

18. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

19. Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto)

20. Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig)

21. Percy Tau (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

22. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund)

23. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

24. Thomas Partey (Ghana & Atletico Madrid)

25. Victor Moses (Nigeria & Chelsea)

26. Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon & Porto)

27. William Troost-Ekong (Nigeria & Bursaspor)

28. Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)

29. Youssef Msakni (Tunisia & Al Duhail)

30. Yves Bissouma (Mali & Lille)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.