32 teams qualify for 2019 FIBA World Cup in China

32 teams qualify for 2019 FIBA World Cup in China

After completion of the final window of the FIBA World Cup Qualifiers on Monday, all 32 teams that will participate at the 2019 FIBA World Cup in China are already known.

The 15-month qualifying campaign which started in November 2017 among 80 teams has now been brought to a close.

FIBA President Horacio Muratore congratulated all 32 teams for making it to the 18th edition of the biggest basketball showpiece in the world.

“On FIBA’s behalf, we wish to congratulate all 32 teams that have qualified for the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019. We also want to take the time to acknowledge and thank the 48 teams and their national federations that will not play in China but who gave their best efforts during the Qualifiers. We now very much look forward to seeing history being made with the biggest FIBA Basketball World Cup taking centre stage from August 31-September 15.”

The 32 qualified teams include:

Tournament hosts: China

Africa (5): Angola, Cote d’Ivoire, Nigeria, Senegal, Tunisia

Americas (7): Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, USA, Venezuela

Asia (7): Australia, Iran, Japan, Jordan, Korea, New Zealand, Philippines

Europe (12): Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Lithuania, Montenegro, Poland, Russia, Serbia, Spain, Turkey

The draws for the 2019 FIBA Basketball World Cup in China will come up on Saturday, March 16 in Shenzhen, China while the tournament will begin from August 31-September 15 and played in eight host cities.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.