2018 FIBAWWC: The USA are three-time champions

2018 FIBAWWC: The USA are three-time champions

United States of America have emerged champions of the 2018 FIBAWWC in Tenerife, Spain. The US were crowned champions for the third time in a row and the 10th time overall after beating 2006 champions, Australia 73-56 on Sunday.

Brittany Griner led the way for the champions with 15 points, Dianna Taurasi added 13 points and 4 assists while Breanna Stewart had 10 points and 8 rebounds.

USA started with a 10-0 run in the first quarter forcing the Opals to play catch-up which eventually turned the corner for the Australians. They ended the first quarter with a 5 point deficit 20-15.

Australia’s star, Liz Cambage could only do little on the day offensively ending up with 7 points, 14 rebounds and 5 blocks. Alanna Smith scored 10 points for the Opals.

Australia had to settle for a silver medal after trailing by 23 points at the end of the third quarter and couldn’t find thier way back in it.

The win for the US also sealed their place at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. They also became the first team to score 10,000 points at the World Cup.

Host Spain finished in third place after beating Belgium 67-60.

The 2018 FIBA Women’s World Cup all star five went to : Australia’s Liz Cambage, Belgium Emma Messeman, Astou Ndour of Spain, Diana Taurasi of USA and American Breanna Stewart.

Breanna Stewart was also awarded the most valuable player of the tournament adding to her 2018 WNBA MVP and WNBA finals MVP with her team, Seattle Storm.

Stewart averaged 26.8 MPG, 16.3 PPG, 6.3 RPG, 2.5 APG, 58% FG and 47.1% from deep.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.