Ukraine vs Nigeria: Rohr recalls Iheanacho, Ajayi

Ukraine vs Nigeria: Rohr recalls Iheanacho, Ajayi

Nigeria head coach, Gernot Rohr, has handed recalls to England based duo Kelechi Iheanacho and Semi Ajayi ahead of next month’s international friendly game between Ukraine and Nigeria.

AFCON third placed team, the Super Eagles, will face Ukraine on September 10 at the Dnipro Arena and Rohr has included Iheanacho and Ajayi, both of whom he omitted from his AFCON squad in his 23-man roster for the friendly.

Rohr has also handed maiden call-ups to Germany based goalkeeper Maduka Okoye and Glasgow Rangers midfielder Joe Aribo. Tyrone Ebuehi is also recalled after a lengthy injury layoff.

From the squad that went to Egypt in the summer, goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi, defender Abdullahi Shehu and midfielder John Ogu have all been left out.

It will be recalled that Rohr faced bitter criticism from Nigerians following what they see as Super Eagles’ disappointing outing at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt, with many Nigerians calling for his sack.

The Super Eagles boss however retained his job with Nigeria’s senior men’s national football team after meeting the target set for him by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC); Emil Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany).

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Benfica, Portugal); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (Rotherham United, England).

Midfielders: Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Joe Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (AS Monaco, France); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain).

Read Also: The Nuance in the Decision on Manager Gernot Rohr

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.