Total/NBBF Division 2 to tipoff in August with 61 teams

Total/NBBF Division 2 to tipoff in August with 61 teams

A total of 61 teams will participate in the Zonal Total/NBBF Division 2 tournament across the 6 geo-political zones of Nigeria in August.

According a statement released on Sunday by the Nigeria Basketball Federation, the Zonal Total/NBBF Division 2 tournament will commence on August 10, 2018 with exception of teams from Osun, Jigawa, Bauchi, Gombe and Yobe State.

The decision is coming weeks after the conclusion of elimination matches between registered teams from States across Nigeria.

South West and North Central Zones will tip off action between August 10-16 in Abeokuta and Makurdi respectively.

For States in the South South and South East zones, they will converge in Calabar and Umuahia between August 17-23.

It will be the turn of North West and North East teams in Zaria and Jalingo from August 24-30 to determine teams that will represent their zones at the Total Division 2 Conference Finals.

Three teams from each zone will book qualifications to the Conference phase between September 3-8 while eight teams will challenge for the national title and an automatic ticket to the Total/NBBF Division 1 between December 16-22.

Meanwhile, the NBBF President, Engineer Musa Kida has inaugurated Conference Coordinators, Zonal Coordinators and a League Secretary to oversee the operations and smooth running of the league.

Alabi Adelanwa will serve as Total Division 2 Coordinator in the Atlantic Conference while Silifa Mohammed will supervise the Savannah Conference.

Ben Attah (North Central), Yakubu Usman (North East), Umar Bala (North West), Fubara Onyanabo (South South), John Fasesin (South West) and Osondu Ngude (South East) have been inaugurated as Zonal Coordinators while Victor Okoro will function as Secretary.

    Leave a Reply