Olympics: D’Tigers, D’Tigress release final roster

Olympics: D’Tigers, D’Tigress release final roster

Coaches of the Nigerian men and women’s national basketball teams, D’Tigers and D’Tigress have released their final rosters for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics which commences on Friday.

Both lists were made public on Tuesday night via the teams’ social media handles as the teams make their way out of their Las Vegas camp in the USA to Tokyo, Japan.

Coach Mike Brown of the D’Tigers made a surprising and shocking call to drop first team regular, Ike Ireogbu while the likes of Micheal Gbinije, Moneke and Stan Okoye also failed to make the cut.

For D’Tigress, Coach Otis Hughley has stuck with the core of the team that emerged Champions at the 2019 Afrobasket in Senegal and also qualified the team for the Olympics. 

D’Tigers Tokyo 2020 Olympic Roster

Josh Okogie, Gabe Nnamdi Vincent, KZ Okpala, Precious Achiuwa, Jahlil Okafor, Miye Oni, Jordan Nwora, Caleb Agada, Obi Emegano, Chimezie Metu, Ekpe Udoh, and Ike Nwamu.

D’Tigers who go into the tournament as the fourth best team in the world based on the Olympic power rankings begin their campaign against Australia and will also face-off against Italy and Germany in the preliminary rounds.

D’Tigress Tokyo 2020 Olympic Roster

Adaora Elonu, Aisha Balarabe, Elizabeth Balogun, Promise Amukamara, Atonye Nyingifa, Ezinne Kalu, Pallas Kunaiyi-Akpannah, Ify Ibekwe, Oderah Chidom, Victoria Macaulay, Erica Ogwumike and Amy Okonkwo.

D’Tigress have been grouped alongside France, host nation Japan and USA whom they open their Olympic campaign against on the 27th of July.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.