Handball: Kalu, Anas, 14 others for Olympic Qualifiers

Handball: Kalu, Anas, 14 others for Olympic Qualifiers

Nigeria senior men’s handball coach, Rafiu Salami listed Maccabi Holon of Israel player, Philip Kalu and Niger United player, Mohammed Anas and 14 others in a 16 man list preparing for 2020 CAHB Nations Cup in Tunisia.

In a statement released by the Secretary General, Handball Federation of Nigeria, Haruna Maigidansama said the players are in high spirit at the camp in Tunisia.

The team will be captained by Maccabi Holon of Isreal player, Philip Kalu who has been playing in the Israel topflight league for over 7 years.

Nigeria’s team boast of six foreign players and 10 home based players plying their trade in the Prudent Energy Handball League.


Michael Agbaji (Kano Pillars) and Obinna Okwor (Confluence Stars) who emerged the best goalkeeper in the Prudent Energy Handball League and National Handball Division one league respective will be in goal for the country.

The Secretary General, Handball Federation of Nigeria, Haruna Maigidansama explained to www.aclsports.com that the essence of camping in Tunisia was to put the player in good shape.

He said the friendly matches lined up for the team was for them to have firsthand experience playing against opponents in North Africa in 2020.

Maigidansama said, “The purpose of our coming to Tunis ahead of the Championship date was to acclimitise with the weather and put the boys in good shape before the challenges ahead.

“I want to tell you that the team is already integrating and improving after friendly matches. This has put them in a good stead for African Nations Cup”.

“Nigerians should watch out for a compact and united team with high spirits to raise the Nigeria flag higher and prove the bookmakers wrong and ultimately delivers the World Cup ticket by God’s grace”, Maigidansama said

The Nigerian Men Senior Handball team is currently on a training camping tour in Tunisia towards the African Nations Cup scheduled for Tunis from 16th to 26th January, 2020.

Full list:

Michael Agbaji (Kano Pillars), Obinna Okwor (Confluence Stars), Philip Kalu (Maccabi Holon), Patrick Obinna (Maccabi Holon), Mohammed Anas (Niger United),  Faruk Yusuf (HC Butel, Macedonia), Obinna Anih (Maccabi Tel Aviv HB Club, Israel), Emmanuel Emeana (Safety Shooters), Gbenga Rotibi (Al-Rawdah HB Club, Saudi Arabia), Aminu Aliyu (Niger United), Emeka Adigwe (Kano Pillars), Owolabi Yaya (Lagos Seasiders), Kingsley Okubuike (Kano Pillars), Ayomide Ibitoye (Lagos Seasiders), Ibrahim Owolabi (Lagos Seasiders) and Gbenga Cole (Mouludia Oudja HB Club, Morocco).

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.