At last, NNL Super Eight set to kick-off in Aba

At last, NNL Super Eight set to kick-off in Aba

The much procrastinated Nigeria National League (NNL) Super Eight playoffs is set to kick-off in Aba this weekend after it emerged on Friday that all participating teams are en route to the South Eastern Nigeria city.

Nigeria’s football league’s second division NNL have over the past six weeks held up the commencement of the football leagues in Nigeria following its insistence on promoting eight teams instead of the statutory four at the end of last season.

The Football Federation (NFF) however directed the league in December to hold the end-of-season playoffs in Aba but the NNL, especially five clubs namely; Kada City, Insurance, Shooting Stars Sports Club, Remo Stars and Kogi United failed to honour the directive.

After a postponement from late December to January 3 and a further meeting with NFF’s top hierarchy on December 27, it appears all the teams have now agreed to participate in the tournament which was also postponed by two further days until January 5, 2019.‘s checks in Aba on Friday revealed that Gombe United who arrived on Thursday held their training session at the Enyimba Stadium on Friday evening while all other teams were confirmed to be on their way to the Enyimba city.

“I don’t know yet if there will be games on Saturday because they will have to call for a general meeting first once all the teams arrive. We had our training today (Friday) and I can say we are ready to play at any time,” Gombe United head coach Ladan Bosso told on Friday evening.

In the meantime, the Referees Committee of the NFF has released names of Match Officials that will officiate games at the NNL Super Eight. According to a short statement by the body’s Public Relations Officer (PRO) Kelechi Mejuobi, the list includes prominent FIFA Badged referees such as Basheer Salisu from Kano and Olayinka Olajide from Lagos state.

List of Match Officials

Bashir S. Kano Fifa
Olayinka O Lagos Fifa
Dr Udennaka C Anambra
Nwanesi B Imo
Sani Salihu FCT
Marcus Bwashi Bauchi

Assistant Referees
Isa Usman Katsina Fifa
Peter Ogwu Bauchi Fifa
Sunny Atu Cross River
Sylvanus Umoh Akwa Ibom
Aminu Salihu FCT
Haruna Dauda Yobe

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.