AFCON2021: Super Eagles set to hit Garoua

AFCON2021: Super Eagles set to hit Garoua

Nigeria senior national team; the Super Eagles are now set to hit Northern Cameroonian city of Garoua ahead of their participation in the 2021 TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON2021).

The team which have been training in Nigeria’s capital city Abuja since last week are expected to fly out of the Federal Capital Territory on Wednesday night aboard a chartered flight to Garoua where they will play all their group stage games in the competition.

Villareal of Spain winger Samuel Chukwueze arrived the team’s camp on Wednesday morning to swell the number of players to 25 out of the expected 28 for the tournament.

The team had open training sessions on Monday and Tuesday under the watchful eyes of interim head coach Augustine Eguavoen, assisted by a consortium of coaches including Salisu Yusuf, Joseph Yobo, Paul Aigbogun and Terry Eguaoje.

The country’s Federal Ministry of Youth and Sports also held a send forth ceremony for the team on Tuesday night in Abuja.

Nigeria will face Egypt in their group D opener in Garoua on Tuesday, January 11, 2022.

Players in camp

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Praha, Czech Republic); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain)

Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Tyrone Ebuehi (Venezia FC, Italy); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.