AFCON19Q: Serero recalled for South Africa Vs Nigeria

AFCON19Q: Serero recalled for South Africa Vs Nigeria

Holland based midfielder Thulani Serero gets a recall as South Africa national team coach Stuart Baxter named an eighteen-man squad for this month’s 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Nigeria.

The 28-year old midfielder who currently plays for Vitesse Arhem in the Eredivisie has not been called up for the past thirteen months but has now been invited after injuries to key Bafana Bafana players ahead of the crunchy tie with Nigeria.

Head coach Baxter will be boosted by Serero’s availability especially as the likes of Dean Furman, Bradley Grobler, Bongani Zungu, Sibusiso Vilakazi and Keagan Dolly are all out due to injuries.

“It has really been a tough task to select the team to face Nigeria without some of our regular players, but we have to soldier on,” Baxter told a press conference on Monday.

“These injuries could not have come at the worst of times when we really need to collect all three points because we are well aware the importance of doing this.

“The positive side, however, is that this gives us a chance to introduce other players into the squad, and these are players we have been monitoring, so it is not like a knee-jerk reaction,” he added.

The Bafana Bafana are in a must-win situation against the Super Eagles when they meet at the FNB Stadium in Johannesburg on Saturday November 17, 2018. South Africa are currently second behind Nigeria in Group E with eight points, one behind Gernot Rohr’s Super Eagles.

Bafana Bafana team list

Goalkeepers: (Itumeleng Khume (Chiefs0, Ronwen Williams (Supersport), Darren Keet (Wits)

Defenders: Ramahle Mphahlele (Chiefs), Motjeka Madisha (Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Wits), Innocent Maela (Pirates), S’Fiso Hlanti (Wits), Buhle MKhwanazi (Bidvest Wits), Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City)

Mifielders: Vincent Pule (Pirates), Lebogang Maboe (Sundowns), Hlompho Kekana (Sundowns), Fortune Makaringe (Maritzburg), Teboho Mokoena (Supersport), Samuel Mabunda (Sundowns), Thembinkosi Lorch (Pirates), Thulani Serero (SBV Vitesse),

Strikers: Themba Zwane (Sundowns), Lebo Mothiba (Racing Club De Strasbourg FC), Dino Ndlovu (Zhejiang Greentown FC, China), Percy Tau (Royal Union Saint FC, Belgium)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.