AWC ’18 Day 4: Nigeria claims Four Gold medals..

AWC ’18 Day 4: Nigeria claims Four Gold medals..

Team Nigeria wrestlers on Saturday night won four gold, four silver and one bronze in Day four of the ongoing African Wrestling championships in Port Harcourt.

Amas Daniel won his 6th African title beating 2017 African fifth place finisher Haithem Dakhlaoui of Tunisia 7-2 points in the 65kg final.

Reigning 70kg champion, John Emmanuel almost lost his title to Amr Hessen of Egypt. The scoreboard had given victory to the Egyptian after the game ended 2-2 points but the scoreline was challenged. It was discovered that John scored a two point move and Hussen scored a one, one point which gave Emmanuel the lead and Second African title.

Debutant Ekeremeke Agiomor of Nigeria from the blast of the whistle tormented South Africa’s Fredylan Marais in the 79kg. Agiomor in the first period took the lead by 7-0 points before picking a pair of take downs which earned him a gold medal.

With the absence of Guinea Bissau’s Augusto Medina in the 86kg, Melvin Bibo of Nigeria in style picked up a Technical Superiority victory over Hein Janse Van Rensburg of South Africa gold medal bout.

Meanwhile, South Africa’s Martin Erasmus beat Nigeria’s Soso Tamara in the 97kg weight class final  to win his first African gold medal. Tamara who beat Erasmus last year could not hold on to the South Africa wrestler in the final.

Elsewhere, Adama Diatta of Senegal did the unexpected capturing his eighth African title. Diatta tutored Chedi Methlouthi of Tunisia for the entire 61kg final match, sealing his title at the second period.



GOLD –  Jan Louwrens COMBRINCK (RSA) df. Ebikewenimo WELSON (NGR), via fall

BRONZE – Gamal Abdelnaser Hanafy MOHAMED (EGY) df. Chakir ANSARI (MAR) via dsq

BRONZE – Abdelhak KHERBACHE (ALG) df. Omar FAYE (SEN), 11-9


GOLD – Adama DIATTA (SEN) df. Chedli METHLOUTHI (TUN), 5-2

BRONZE – Firstman VICTOR (NGR) df. Gert Cornelius Johannes COETZEE (RSA), 7-5


GOLD – Amas DANIEL (NGR) df. Haithem DAKHLAOUI (TUN), 7-2

BRONZE – Reynhardt LOUW (RSA) df. Mbunde CUMBA MBALI (GBS), 12-10

BRONZE – Fares LAKEL (ALG) df. Sofiane EL KHAMER (MAR), vin


GOLD – Ogbonna Emmanuel JOHN (NGR) df. Amr Reda Ramadan HUSSEN (EGY), 2-2

BRONZE – Jean Bernard Diadia DIATTA (SEN) df. Tchani BAKI (BEN), 6-0

BRONZE – Chems Eddine BOUCHAIB (ALG) df. John Mburu KARIUKI (KEN), 10-0


GOLD – Ayoub BARRAJ (TUN) df. Sami Hamdi AMINE (EGY), 2-0

BRONZE – ALI Mustafa (SUD) df.. Chakir MOHAMED (MAR), 14-2


GOLD – Ekerekeme AGIOMOR (NGR) df. Fredylan George MARAIS (RSA), 11-0.

BRONZE – Francisco de Deus KADIMA (ANG) df. Augustine P Flomo (LBR), 10-0

BRONZE – Oussema RIGANI (MAR) df. Mark Omumasaba INGUYESI (KEN), 12-1


GOLD – Melvin BIBO (NGR) df. Hein Jakobus JANSE VAN RENSBURG (RSA), 10-0

BRONZE – Imed KADDIDI (TUN) df. Assanti FRIDOUSSE (BEN), 10-0

BRONZE – BASHER Guma (SUD) df. Abdou LOUALI (NIG), vfo


GOLD – Hosam Mohamed Mostafa MERGHANY (EGY) df. Robert DAUFA (NGR), 3-0

BRONZE – John Odhiambo OMONDI (KEN) df. Eric W BORKUAH (LBR), 15-4


GOLD – Martin ERASMUS (RSA) df. Soso TAMARAU (NGR), 1-1.

BRONZE – Yvan Cedric NYAMSI TCHOUGA (CMR) df. Mohammed FARDJ (ALG), 1-1


GOLD – Khaled Omr Zaki Mohamed ABDALLA (EGY) df. Sinivie BOLTIC (NGR), 2-1 BRONZE – Clauds KOUAMEN MBIANGA (CMR) df. Adama TANGARA (CIV), 9-2

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.