Powerlifting: Nigeria name 17 lifters for France

Powerlifting: Nigeria name 17 lifters for France

Seven Paralympic Champions and 2018 World Champion will head Nigeria’s 17 man team at the World Para Powerlifting European Championships.

The World Championships in Berck-Sur-Mer, France is for May 25th to 29th, 2018.

It will be the first regional championships ahead of the 2019 World Championships in Astana, Kazakhstan, and the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games.

The list made available to aclsports.com consists of seven male lifters and ten female lifters.

2012 Paralympic champion, Adesokan Yakub resumes action in the Team Nigeria squad after missing out of both the 2016 Rio Paralympics as well as the 2018 Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast, Australia.

2018 Commonwealth champion, Roland Ezuruike as well as 2018 World champion, Paul Kehinde will be attending their third major tournaments this year in the male category.

While three time Commonwealth champion, Esther Oyema; 2016 Paralympic champions, Lucy Ejike and Bose Omolayo return to action in the female category.

Nigeria team


Adesokan Yakubu- Men’s up to 49kg

Roland Ezuruike- Men’s up to 54kg

Dauda Ibrahim- Men’s up to 59kg

Paul Kehinde- Men’s up to 65kg

Innocent Nnamdi- Men’s up to 72kg

Taiwo Tolulope- Men’s up to 80kg

Jegeda Bambo- Men’s up to 88kg


Ben Nisni- Women’s up to 40kg

Latifat Tijani- Women’s up to 45kg

Bose Bejide- Women’s up to 50kg

Esther Oyema- Women’s up to 55kg

Lucy Ejike- Women’s up to 61kg

Olaitan Ibrahim- Women’s up to 67kg

Ebere Opakra- Women’s up to 73kg

Omolayo Bose- Women’s up to 79kg

Folashade Oluwafemiayo – Women’s up to 86kg

Obiji Loveline- Women’s up to +86kg


Are Feyisetan (Head Coach)

Kemi Oyegbola(Assistant Coach)

    Leave a Reply