Wrestling: Khadijat Idris now National Champion

Wrestling: Khadijat Idris now National Champion

Former National Youth Games Champion, Khadijat Idris (Kogi state) has emerged national senior champion in the 50kg women category at the Baraza Champion of Champions Wrestling tournament in Yenegoa, Bayelsa state.

Idris defeated Christiana Ogunsanya (Oyo state) 7-2 points in the final of the 50kg women’s category despite being the underdog in the weight class.

The Kogi State wrestler shockingly overcame former African silver-medalist Rosemary Nweke 10-0 via technical superiority in the round robin match.

An elated Khadijat Idris told www.aclsports.com that she is excited to eventually become a senior national champion.

Idris revealed that she always watch video clips of senior wrestlers like Aminat Adeniyi, Blessing Oborududu and Odunayo Adekuoroye because they are recognized in the world.

She said, “Since I won gold at the National Youth Games in Ilorin, I had always dreamt of becoming a senior women’s national champion. I am full of joy because I am able to fulfill it at my young age. When I was paired against an African Silver medallist, my heart skipped but my spirit told me to be courageous and to God be the glory, I defeated her by Technical Superiority.

“When some of our senior wrestlers like Aminat Adeniyi, Blessing Oborududu and Odunayo Adekuoroye wrestle, I watch them with keen interest and learn from them”.

Khadijat Idris lost to Mercy Genesis in the women’s 50kg final at the 2019 Governor Serieke Dickson Wrestling Championships in Yenegoa, Bayelsa state.


Full List of Winners on Day 1:

50kg Women Wrestling
Gold – Khadijat Idris (Kogi Sate)
Silver – Christiana Ogunsanya (Oyo State)
Bronze – Princess Bankole (Ondo State)

57kg Women Wrestling
Gold – Odunayo Adekuoroye (Ondo State)
Silver – Esther Kolawole (Ondo State)
Bronze – Aboje Isioma (Delta State)

57kg Freestyle
Gold – Ebikewenimo Welson (Bayelsa State)
Silver – Simeon Enolumimi (Edo State)
Bronze – Stephen Akintewe (Ondo State)

74kg Freestyle
Gold – John Ogbonna (Ondo State)
Silver – Amos Assizecourt (Rivers State)
Bronze – Audu Erekpo (Bayelsa State)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.