MOC Inaugural Grand Prix Holds In Lagos

MOC Inaugural Grand Prix Holds In Lagos

Over 15 National athletes and 70 others have registered for the first edition of the Making of Champions (MOC) Grand Prix in Lagos.

The MoC Grand Prix slated for June 12 and 13 at the Yaba College of Technology (YABATECH), promises to be very exciting going by the calibre of entries already received across all competitions.

In the men’s 100m, Emmanuel Arowolo, Usheoritse Itsekiri, Tega Odele would look to rekindle their rivalry when they do battle for the top prize on offer. The trio would also compete in the 200m, and although Arowolo is the current National champion in this event, he would not be resting on his oars as he aims to match or surpass his Personal Best (PB) of 20.85s.

While in the women’s category, there’s a prospect of some fast races on display as MoC’s Joy Udo-Gabriel who’s the 4th fastest Nigerian in the 100m this season with a Personal Best of 11.42s, line up against Blessing Ogundiran who’s the 5th fastest with a PB of 11.48s which she posted in March at the Abuja Golden League.

In the quarter-mile, there’s an interesting field to look forward to in both categories, with established names like Orukpe Erayokan and Samson Nathaniel both confirmed to participate in the men’s 400m. Nathaniel would also be competing in the men’s 200m as well.

Yinka Ajayi, who’s Nigeria’s fastest female quarter-miler this season with a lifetime’s best of 51.22s, will undoubtedly be the favourite for the women’s 400m. She will also look to double in the 200m as well, however she will be coming up against the likes of Ntia-Obong, alongside her teammate and friend Onome Nathaniel who would give her a good run.

Meanwhile, Nathaniel will be the undisputed favourite in women’s 400m Hurdles, having recently raced to a PB of 55.01s at the Commonwealth Games in Australia. However Rita Ossai will hope to cause an upset when she squares up against her.

The men’s 110m Hurdles is one event to keep an eye on as the quartet of: Oyeniyi Abejoye, (who is also competing in the 100m and 200m), Bashiru Abdullahi, Martins Ogieriakhi and Decathlete Peter Moreno all make up what will be a formidable line-up. On a good day, any of the four athletes could win that race, it’s left to be seen who would have a perfect jump over the barriers to take the win.

Registration is still open till Friday June 8 for athletes who intend to participate in the MOC Grand Prix.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.