FIBA WCQ: NBBF releases 17-man preliminary list

FIBA WCQ: NBBF releases 17-man preliminary list

Nigeria Basketball Federation has released a preliminary list for the upcoming FIBA World Cup qualifiers scheduled for this month in Lagos.

Nanterre Basketball of France player, Alade Aminu and Olaseni Lawal of Scandone AV of Italy have both made a return to D’Tigers team.

The duo who last featured for the D’Tigers at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio, Brazil have been recalled by D’Tigers Head Coach, Alex Nwora for the crunchy games against Mali, Rwanda and Uganda.

The pair will be joined by team captain, Diogu Ikechukwu (Sichun Blue Whales, China) Uzoh Benjamin (CB Caballero De Culican, Mexico), Mbamalu Bryant (CD Vildivia, Chile), Zanna Talib (Ironi Nes-Zion’s, Italy), Emenago Obinna Clinton (Rouen Basket, France) and Mike Efevberha (Beirut Club, Lebanon).

Meanwhile, 9 other new faces have also been called and are likely to make their national debut if selected in the final 12-man team for the 3rd window of the qualifiers.

Listed are Omoerah Keith Sado (Baerum Basket, Norway), Braxton Ogbueze Jai (Charlotte University, USA), Nwora Jordan (University of Louisville, USA) Agada Caleb Apochi (Prat, Spain) and Okosun Augustine Obehioye (Sameji, Dominican Republic).

Others are London based Jesse Adekoya, Attah AbdulAziz (JeanD Brebeau, Canada), Mehinti Tosin Idowu (Lavrio, Greece) and Moses Kingsley (Antwerp Giants, Belgium).

To adequately prepare the team for the task ahead, D’Tigers will play 4 friendlies against Côte d’Ivoire, Gabon and Benin Republic.

The first 2 games will be against Cote d’Ivoire in Abidjan on June 23 and 24 while on the 26th and 27th, they will face Gabon and Republic of Benin respectively.

The team will start its campaign against Rwanda on the June 29 at the Indoor Sports Hall of the National Stadium, Lagos.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.