AITEO Cup: Enyimba score five again, Akwa beaten

AITEO Cup: Enyimba score five again, Akwa beaten

2014 champions Enyimba scored five goals in a match for the second time in six days as they trounced Julius Atete FC 5-0 in Gombe to seal top spot in AITEO Cup group A while defending champions Akwa United suffered a rare loss against Nasarawa United in Aba.

Enyimba made five changes to their playing personnel but that still did not deter them from recording the biggest margin in the entire group stage of the competition.

Strikers Stephen Chukwude, Abdulrahman Bashir, Wasiu Alalade, Ugochukwu Leonard and midfielder Jean Marie Guera scored the goals for the People’s Elephant. Julius Atete finished the group without any point.

Katsina United finished second in Group A after a last gasp victory over Plateau United in the earlier game at the Pantami Stadium. Defender Chinedu Ajanah scored the decisive goal at the nick of time to seal qualification for Abdullahi Biffo’s men. Katsina United will now head to Lagos to face group winners Kwara United who lost 1-2 to Kano Pillars on the final day of action at the Agege Stadium.

Striker Segun Alebiosu scored another brilliant free kick for United but goals from Nzube Anaezemba and Joel Djondang scored to earn Pillars qualification as second in the group. Pillars’ victory rendered Abia Warriors’ 1-0 win over Rivers United at the Legacy pitch inconsequential.

Warriors, in their game played simultaneously with the Kwara/Pillars game ensured that Rivers United finish the group with no point at all after midfielder Shedrack Asiegbu scored in the second half. Warriors however bow out due to their horrendous loss to Kwara United in the opener.

In Kano, Enugu Rangers finished tops after a 0-0 draw with Sunshine Stars at the Kano Pillars Stadium in Sabon Gari while El-Kanemi Warriors took second spot after a 1-0 win over Supreme Court at the Sani Abacha Stadium in Kofarmata.

El-Kanemi will now travel to Aba to face group winners Nasarawa United. Nasarawa were shock 2-0 winners over hitherto group leaders Akwa United. Nojeem Olukokun and Isah Ndala profited from defensive blunders to score against a much changed Akwa side. Kabiru Dogo’s men finished top of the group and will now face El-Kanemi next Thursday.

The quarter final games will hold next Wednesday, October 3 with the exception of Enyimba’s clash with Kano Pillars due to the former’s CAF engagement.


Group A

Katsina United 1-0 Plateau United

Julius Atete 0-5 Enyimba

Group B

Sunshine Stars 0-0 Rangers

El-Kanemi 1-0 Supreme Court

Group C

Abia Warriors 1-0 Rivers United

Kwara United 1-2 Kano Pillars

Group D

Wikki Tourists 1-0 Kogi United

Akwa United 0-2 Nasarawa United

Quarter final fixtures

Enyimba vs Kano Pillars – Gombe (PP) 

Kwara United vs Katsina United – Agege, Lagos

Rangers vs Akwa United – Kano

Nasarawa United vs El-Kanemi

    Leave a Reply