AFCON 2019: Isaac Success recalled for Eagles clash with Libya

AFCON 2019: Isaac Success recalled for Eagles clash with Libya

Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr has recalled England based duo Alex Iwobi and Isaac Success for the forthcoming 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Libya.

Rohr’s list of twenty-four invited players for the double-header against Libya’s Mediterranean Knights was released on Monday afternoon by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) with the names of Iwobi and one-cap forward Success in the mix.

Iwobi missed last month’s 3-0 win over Seychelles in Victoria due to an undisclosed illness while Success whose only cap for Nigeria was in a friendly against Senegal in March 2017 has been rewarded for his improved match time at English Premier League side, Watford.

Also earning recalls into Rohr’s side are defensive trio Ola Aina, William Troost-Ekong and Abdullahi Shehu who all missed the Seychelles trip due to varying degrees of injuries. The latter though yet to feature for his Turkish club Bursaspor since returning to training two weeks ago.

Italy based forward Simeon Nwankwo and FC Porto starlet Kelechi Nwakali are however omitted from the squad but England based Semi Ajayi and Germany based left back Jamilu Collins retained their spots.

Nigeria will face Libya at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo on Saturday October 13 before traveling to Sfax, Tunisia for the second instalment of the double-header contest.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Elche FC, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nasr FC, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Italy); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux FC, France); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England)

    Leave a Reply